Yarn is In!

I sent in four lilac and white fleeces to a Fiber Mill this past June and had them blended together and processed in to two ply worsted yarn.  I finally received my package in USPS  yesterday and am happy to report that the yarn is beautiful!

I find the color to be wonderfully fascinating – with how much I love to mix and dye my own colors for my scarves, the natural wool colors are what grab me most.  This lilac blend is a beautiful oatmeal / silver from Dot, Cora, Lou Ellen and Demure.

I have never had my own fiber processed by a mill and wanted to do a lump together to see what I received back, and how much it would cost in the end.  Sometimes the pricing, though spelled out on websites, can be a bit confusing to the person who has never done this sort of thing before.  Considering the price of the four fleeces spun up, and the amount I got back, I will be sending off more fiber that is currently taking up too much room in my wood shed area.  I have some black sorted, and white sorted, and some fleeces I’ll just process alone for their own variation.  I won’t just be doing yarn either – but roving too.  I’m excited to see what happens from future shipments.

To give you an idea of what the color looks like on the sheep…

Mud Ranch’s Cora

 

Mud Ranch’s Dot & Kenleigh’s Demure

Mud Ranch’s Lou Ellen

Watch for the yarn in my Etsy shop!

About mudranch

I live in the country, I love to take photos, I'm a shepherdess, I adore my husband and daughter, I walk in the will of Christ.

Posted on November 20, 2012, in Jacob Sheep, Products and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. The yarn looks luscious!

  2. So beautiful! Do you have a favorite scarf you make?

Leave a comment