Summer Time

The sheep have been enjoying moving from pasture to pasture this spring and summer – mostly with the help of my new electric net fencing I got from Premier 1 Supplies.  I am really loving having that fencing so that I can rotate the sheep, and keep them safe from coyotes.

ImageJust recently, however, I’ve moved the fence to allow a much larger grazing area.  I’m careful to bring them in every night though as there is a lot of wild rose bushes – which makes for great forage, but also great hiding for predators.

ImageThe sheep are not alone either – they’ve got six male llamas for company and some sort of protection.  The llamas are owned by a friend of ours who uses them for packing.  They are certainly not touted as “guard llamas” but I’ve noticed a tendency in a couple of them.  I also know that in hanging out with the sheep, they’re also protecting themselves and would inadvertantly protect the sheep.

ImageFor the most part, the sheep are doing really well out on the grasses and bushes.  There’s also lots of blackberries and willows that are good for the sheep as well.  It is interesting to watch and see what the sheep crave each day.

Image

Speaking of quickly moving days — this little girl is turning 5 on Sunday!  Wow, where did the time go?  I started this blog a few short months after she entered my life because I was craving real human interaction (even over the computer was satisfying!), now I’m over-loaded on the interaction.  I wouldn’t trade her for anything though.  And she loves checking on the sheep as much as I do – running up and down their paths.  Country Girl, says it all.

Hope you’re having a lovely summer too!

Image

About mudranch

I live in the country, I love to take photos, I'm a shepherdess, I adore my husband and daughter, I walk in the will of Christ.

Posted on July 19, 2012, in Annie, Jacob Sheep and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Great pictures! Glad your sheep are doing well. Doris will love all her new friends.

  2. Denise Leiler

    Wonderful photos Joan ! Especially of Annie. Six Lamas ? Who is the horse with the tick birds ? Love …Aunt Denise. Hope Annie has a GREAT Birthday !

  3. So glad the fencing is working! The sheep look like they are really enjoying themselves. Where did the time go is right!!! I can’t believe she is turning 5. Tell her ‘Happy Birthday’ from us.

Leave a Reply

