Breeding Groups — Lambs Coming Soon!

Well I’m starring lambing season right in the nostrils right now — I expect lambs  as early as this weekend, if not a couple days ahead if they’re all on the same schedule as me.  Which, we’re probably not as synchronized as I like to think.  It’s hard to believe that I was just making lists and checking them twice a little over five months ago, putting ewes in with rams that I thought would blend well.  I think that’s the fun part of lambing, to see if your theories work out like you anticipate.

Here’s Tristan’s group the day after they were put together, October 4th.  He had the pleasure of keeping company to some lovely ladies (some of which I had forgotten were in with him — and I was pleasantly surprised): Serenity, Violet, Sierra, Lily, Paisley, Aphrodite, Hazel, Joy and Beltie.

Wrangler’s Group, taken the same day: Kiri, Sophia, Susannah, Emma, Loretta, Cordelia, Joanne, Winifred, Stephanie, Stardust, Sprinkles and April.  He had several marked on the first day, but I guess he had a reputation of getting a little overly excited.  We have since lost Wrangler so I’m really keeping my fingers crossed for a replacement ram lamb out of either Winifred or Sprinkles.

Part of Lancelot’s Breeding Group, photo taken the same day: Lura, Bliss, Demure, Edna, Francine, Lou Ellen, Ruby, Sarah Jane, Meg, Tiffany and (Champagne) Bubbles.  He also had a handful of ewe lambs in with him due to lack of pasture space to keep them separated – he was also the first ram removed from his group so I’m really hoping he didn’t breed the younger girls.  Only time will tell!

Unfortunately Raider’s group never got photographed but his list of lovely ladies is: Rose, Boudicca, Princess, Cyan, Stella and Kiara

Hold on to your hats and glasses because lambs will be arriving before we know it!  😀

About mudranch

I live in the country, I love to take photos, I'm a shepherdess, I adore my husband and daughter, I walk in the will of Christ.

Posted on February 21, 2012, in Jacob Sheep and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. Very exciting! Can’t wait to see the babies 🙂

  2. Jill
    I love reading your blog. My husband and I have a small pasture and we need some lawnmowers and are considering sheep, so I am learning from you.

    I think the baby sheep are the cutest of all the baby animals so keep the photos coming when they arrive.

    Also I have started my blog called” taking the back road” and would love to have you as a guest blogger one of these days after your maternity period of course.

  3. How exciting, you have so many sheep are they still outside? have you warmed up? Our Mama is still not showing any signs of anything other than weight, but last year she did not have her lambs until April, I was trying for earlier this year but I think i have failed, next time i am going to put a harness on the ram. I think i can justify the expense.. Not knowing is a bit of a bore. And i am so looking forward to your lambs you will have piles of them running about soon.. c

  4. Beautiful photos. Can’t wait to see the lambs :-D.

  5. Hey!!! Where’s Raiders group pic??? Grandpa Cookie

Leave a Reply

