The Ladies in Waiting

Waiting for lambs to arrive that is.

Kenleigh's Lilly

Lilly seems quite uncomfortable — and she’s always off by herself, which really isn’t any different than any other day (she is afterall NOT a sheep!) except now she has a look on her face, “Get OUT babies!”

Mud Ranch's Sophia

Sophia is huge every year and normally delivers twin ram lambs, this year though, she seems even bigger.  We’ve expected her to deliver since before the first lambs arrived but she just keeps on baking them and getting bigger and bigger every day.  Poor thing looks very uncomfortable!

Castle Rock Princess & Sophia (background)

We keep thinking Princess is going to deliver any day and every day we check on them she’s just laying around.  But today seemed a little different, she’s standing up by some blackberry bushes by herself and just has that look about her — of course she does realize it’s down pouring today and yesterday would have been better because we had sun!  But…

Castle Rock Princess

Princess says, “I can lamb when I feel like it, Lady.”

About mudranch

I live in the country, I love to take photos, I'm a shepherdess, I adore my husband and daughter, I walk in the will of Christ.

Posted on March 10, 2011, in Jacob Sheep. Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. That last picture of Princess is priceless 🙂 You may have to take a boat out to collect the lambs later!

  2. Christy Jacobs

    I love the last picture as well…Princess…you are priceless! Princess is very beautiful, even while very prego!

  3. Poor sophia!! She’s a tub!! How do you decide on your lambie names?? Do you have one named Dolores?? That sounds like a cute lambie-pie name!!

    • Dolores is on my list of names — I have a couple lists actually and google “old fashioned names.” Sometimes I name without looking at the list (probably most the time) because it just fits the lamb. There are always different ones, i.e. Sunshine. It just worked for her. 😀 Oh, and I used to have a goat named Dolores, and I called her Dee. 🙂 Thank you for the suggestion… Keep ’em coming if you think of more. 😉

  4. Mildred. Or Millicent! Really I’m just jealous that I don’t have my own lambs or sheep to name!! So, I live vicariously through you!
    And…I just realized I haven’t seen a post about Abigail in a while. Is she still around? And the moocows??

    • Those are excellent! Thank you. 😀

      Abby is gone, she was chasing cars on our main road in to town and was getting Hank to join her… Too dangerous for the people driving and for her and Hank so we found her a new home. That was VERY hard to do, but was the right thing. I miss her very much.

      The cows were costing too much money to keep… They eat a lot!! We’ve just got the sheep now and our horses, dogs and cats. 🙂 Chickens are soon going to arrive.

Leave a Reply

