Just when we thought things couldn’t get cuter…

I guess twelve lambs bouncing around our pastures wasn’t cute enough for Violet — She gave me a present this morning, though not exactly all that welcome of a present.  I found her out in the pasture with two lambs and it’s pouring down rain.  I quickly made my way out there to bring her and the lambs in to the barn and as I was hustling along, I noticed the was tossing one with her horns.  Not a good sign.  I really don’t know why ewes sometimes reject their babies, but sometimes (they are sheep after-all) it’s for good reason; i.e. my parent’s found out their rejected lamb was deaf.  Good call on the ewe’s part.  But Violet — Saint Violet?  The ewe who can do no wrong?  Strange… So I tried a few times in the barn to get Violet to accept her baby, fed her so she was distracted and she wasn’t having it.  I just had a sense that this was not going to work out so brought the little ram lamb home (his brother Victor is still in the barn being cared for by his mother). 

Hank and Larry Boy

 “Larry Boy” as Annie has named him, has found house living quite comfortable.  He is doted on my Hank and Annie and has warm bodies to snuggle with.  He also gets fed a few ounces of milk every two hours and enjoys warmth and a dry enviornment.

Watching the Pirates Who Don't Do Anything

And in all honesty, none of these photos were posed.  What a better way to include Larry Boy in to our family than with a little movie time watching a Veggie Tales flick.  I think he enjoyed it.

Pure Comfort

What do you think?  House life is hard on the little booger eh?

"Mommy" Hank

Hank has taken to this lamb baby sitting business like he was made for it (which, I really think he was.)  He bathes the lamb, cleans his bottom, and snuggles next to him.  I just can’t wait to go outside this spring to call for, “Hank!  Annie!  Larry!”  And watch people’s faces as my children arrive.

Small Paul

And once Larry Boy gets big enough and strong enough we’re going to move him out to the garden where there’s a nice sturdy fence and the Dudes will be his next door neighbors.  House living, though comfy for Larry, won’t be tolerated by the adult humans around here for very long.

About mudranch

I live in the country, I love to take photos, I'm a shepherdess, I adore my husband and daughter, I walk in the will of Christ.

Posted on March 5, 2011, in Jacob Sheep and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 13 Comments.

  1. Lily says, Under no circumstances are to eat Larry Boy! those pics are just so stinkin’ cute!

  2. He is adorable! Love the pics!!

  3. Annie makes a great lounge chair for Larry. Bottle lambs are cute but I don’t want any if I can help it.

  4. The collie we had when I was a teen was the most maternal creature I have ever known. I didn’t know if it was just her, or the breed. You’ve convinced me it’s the breed! You need to turn this one into a children’s book!!!

  5. I am excruciatingly jealous of Annie! I want to watch a movie with a baby lamb on my lap!!!

  6. Ohhhh my goodness!!! THat is the cutest thing I have ever seen. Poor lil Larry.

  7. Wow, that is so cute!! Annie is a lucjy girl to have that kind of cuddle buddy! Can’t wait to see the rest of your bouncing babies! 🙂

  8. Cyndie from the Double "S"

    Very cute pics. We know what you are going through here. One of our ewes had triplets this year and rejected the runt. We brought the lamb to the house in a Bee Sweet Orange box.Though it has been a tradition for all ewes on our small farm to have flower names this little ewe lamb is now called Bee Sweet. And we are lucky in the fact it is a ewe lamb so when the day comes to make the decision market or stay (I’m pretty sure she will be staying) we will at least have a productive member of the farm. I like your blog nicely done. Thanks for sharing.

    • Hi Cyndie – Thank you for stoppin in! 🙂 And for your story of Bee Sweet, what a cute name. 😉 We have been naming our lambs names that begin with the same letter as the ewe’s name but since Violet rejected him, we decided we could name him whatever WE wanted. His brother’s name is Victor. What kind of sheep do you have? And yes, we wish he was a she but we’ll just deal with him as we go… Can’t see us using him for meat but one never knows in farm life.

      • My boys raise Hampshire-Suffolk cross for 4-H and meat market. Their ram is a registered Hampshire and thier ewes are Suffolk. The ram’s name is Bob so all our male lambs have B names. Yes I caught on your pattern right off the bat. Love it. When they first started buying ewes they named them flower names and it stuck after the ewes started lambing. We tease them and tell them they have a bouquet not a flock. We love Jacob sheep but not much of a market in our area for them and they are not allowed at our fairs because of the horns. The boys only name the lambs that are either staying as breading stock or going to fair. The other market lambs do not get named, they are called a few names now and then but we can not publish that on-line if you know what I mean :)LOL.

Leave a Reply

