Building Castles

The sun has been coming out the last couple of days in the afternoon and finally today, Annie and I were able to take a little walk around the property.

010611_0629

Our little valley in the mountains tends to get socked in with fog and low lying clouds because there is so much dampness and of course the river and lakes help out too.  It really affects some people’s attitudes and when the sun comes out we like to take advantage of the warmth!

010611_0632

Hank always enjoys our walks and as we’re learning about acorns and small items we find on the trail, he’ll lay down and wait until we’re ready to go again.  Of course, once I snap a photo of him, Annie wants her picture taken too… Here she is running to pose with Hank.  Cropped, this would be a nice one of Hank but I wanted to leave her in the picture to show you just how fast my trigger finger has to be!

010611_0634

Then Annie mauls him and puts her stuffed black puppy in for a photo too.

010611_0650

It’s always fun to see all the little items we find, Annie found these herself, growing on the side of an oak tree which quickly became her castle.

010611_0653

It sits on the side of a hill over looking our meadow behind the house.  I told her she can peek out and watch for bad guys but she wanted to be the lady at the “milk store” (Starbucks) and I was supposed to get in line for a coffee.  She really does like to serve… But if that were me as a kid, there’d be bad guys.

010611_0654

Good ol’ Harry likes to come along too, he follows everywhere we go.  Here he is showing off in our castle.

010611_0656

So Annie had to show off too.

010611_0667

On our way back around toward the end of our loop I found the Dudes sun bathing… See everyone enjoys it when the clouds depart.

010611_0685

So we all spent some time soaking up the sun and watching Annie “build a castle” with dirt piled up on her pony.  I’m not so sure she gets the concept of castles yet, but that’s okay.

010611_0687

She made sure that I was going to post these photos on the blog so she could hear how everyone liked her castle – So do you like it?  Didn’t she do a good job? 😉

010611_0675

Raider and I had some bonding time on either side of the fence too and he even let me scratch his chin.  He’s much too friendly for my taste, I’m very cautious with him and even have dubbed him “Hubby’s Sheep.”  But out of breeding season, he doesn’t try to pull anything too scary… He’s just too friendly. 

010611_0666

But he has some pretty fleece!

About mudranch

I live in the country, I love to take photos, I'm a shepherdess, I adore my husband and daughter, I walk in the will of Christ.

Posted on January 6, 2011, in Annie, Jacob Sheep, Nature and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 14 Comments.

  1. beautiful countryside and what a beautiful family you have … I sometimes wish here in Western Australia there were a few more hills.

    • Hey thanks for commenting! We are definitely mountainous here… Even in California we have lots of mountains! So many people who aren’t from here think that CA is only beaches and palm trees. 😉

  2. Annie’s castles are beautiful!

  3. I love her castles. Tell her good job! The next time you are up here, we will have to take a drive and see the castle that isn’t far from here. I would love to live in a castle 😉 Love the self portrait.

    • I’d love to do that Shannon! Didn’t realize you had castles in Oregon. 😉 I’d love to visit a real one in Austira… Just found the one in Germany (online) that Sleeping Beauty’s castle was designed after. It is amazingly beautiful and if I spoke German I’d type it out right now but… 😀

  4. You take the best photos. Can I ask what type of camera you have? I will soon be in the market for a new one so I can post better pics on my blog as well as of the products I will be trying to sell in the near future(wicker and wool). I raise Icelandics and Old English Sheepdogs as well, and have a horse and a donkey.

    • Thanks Brenda! I have a Nikon D300 which is awesome, bought it used and it was a great investment. I can’t imagine wanting anything more but then I used to say that about my D50 which I grew out of (but had for about 4 years!) The major thing is investing in good glass (lenses.) That’s where you get the good quality photos. Thanks for stopping in! 😀

  5. Brian went through the barista stage, too. Since I avoid caffeine, he was always asking, “Do you want a decaffy?” Ah, those were the days. Now all he wants to do is carry a sword and smite dragons, so he would be a good addition to Annie’s kingdom if she ever “gets” castles. (And yes, Annie; I think a castle pony is perfect!)

  6. Tell Annie I think her castle is amazing and the idea she had to put her ponies in the dirt….BRILLIANT!
    I was reading your comments and the castle in Austria you are speakin of is beautiful! Wish I could say I have seen it in person but only in pictures. A friend of mine was just proposed to in the swan lake right outside that castle this past summer.

  7. Annie looks so sweet even if she is mauling the dog. One happy kid, that’s for sure!

Leave a Reply

