Monday’s Blast from the Past – Pinkerton

My new thought, after perusing my Picasa, is to have “Blast from the Past” Mondays where I’ll post something that is from my past… Something that feels so far away but was very real at one time. 

Above is my donkey, Pinkerton.  I adopted him from the BLM in the early 2000’s and he weasled his way in to my heart in a big way.  I loved this little donk very much.  Unfortunately, Pink had to be put down after a very traumatic time where he started to go crazy and was attacking my sheep and even turned on me… Thankfully a sheep distracted him again.  But he did end up killing a couple and was really never back to his normal cuddly self.  I don’t know what happened to him, but do miss him very much.  He was a sweet old soul and I am glad to have run across his pictures again.  By the way, a donk isn’t too thrilled about snow, but he was happy to pose.  As long as a hug came shortly afterward, and it always did.

About mudranch

I live in the country, I love to take photos, I'm a shepherdess, I adore my husband and daughter, I walk in the will of Christ.

Posted on December 6, 2010, in Blast from the Past and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. What an incredibly handsome animal with a bizarre tale!

    • It is a bizarre tale… He was so wonderful. I cannot tell you how much I loved his hugs… He would just come up and rest his chin on my shoulder. I haven’t really posted about him because of his sad departure but felt that regardless, I loved him anyway and he should be on here at some point. Running across his pictures brought a smile to my face.

  2. Handsome donkey. Sorry it ended poorly. Was it possible that he was ill in some way? Rabies?

    • I had wondered the same thing… Rabies perhaps? I don’t know but something seemed to “snap” — His eyes even looked different. Scary to me, which was NOT normal.

  3. I have dream of adopting one myself one day. I think I will call him “Donkey”. 😉

    • Cute idea Rachelle. 🙂 I think you should definitely get one… A bit younger would definitely be a lot easier. Pinkerton was 13 when I adopted him and had only been gelded 3 years. He was sooo sweet… I miss him.

  4. So sweet a face! I hope you get another one some day.

Leave a Reply

