Mystery Lamb Case – Cracked

This past Monday I was over at my mother-in-law’s place worming all the girls that aren’t in Raider’s breeding group which include girls slated to be Prescott’s girlfriends and ewe lambs sired by Raider.  As we were catching and worming, catching and worming, I came across a very striking two horned ewe lamb whom I instantly thought was “Hyacinth” but then discovered the real Hyacinth and then was stumped as to who this girl was.  There were just a handful of lambs that didn’t get tagged because they were born at the end of lambing season and I didn’t have the heart to tag their itty bitty ears, Hyacinth and her sister Iris being two of them.  Who else wasn’t tagged?  I racked my brain and looked through my flock book… Must have been Joy’s lamb!  But as I was searching through lamb photos I noticed that Joy’s ewe lamb had long black boots on her legs (not to be confused with “Boots” who is out of Cheyenne.)  Well who could this be?  Searching, searching through the pictures in my Lambs 2010 folder and finally discovered who this was.

030310_Duchess'Ewe

This little ewe lamb was a twin by Raider and out of a ewe I bought as part of a whole flock from a couple years ago named Duchess.  Duchess was not a nice looking ewe.  She was considered four horned but one side of her horns tried to fuse but were not the full length and thus rendered her, what I assumed would be unregisterable.  Duchess was sired by Chicory Lane Houdini and her dam was Chicory Lane Emma, the ewe I lost to the first lion of this year, just before lambing season.  I had a heart for Duchess simply because I lost her very nice mama to the lion so wanted to see what she produced.  As it turns out, the ram was sold for meat earlier and then Duchess was also sold as a cull because of her horns which left this little lamb without a family and then unnoticed in the flock.  Though I did purpose to watch this lamb, somehow life got in the way and she went unnoticed until our worming.

100710_Jenna

So here she is now, still at my mother-in-law’s place and is one of the more friendly ewe lambs there.  She’s very curious and certainly not too bashful… She’ll at least give you the time of day.  The one thing that grabbed me about her (besides her lovely two horns) was her fleece!  It is so beautiful, nice large open crimp, long staple length and so soft.  Anyone looking for a fiber ewe?  “Emma” (named for her grand dam) will fit the bill nicely.

022210_Duchess

About mudranch

I live in the country, I love to take photos, I'm a shepherdess, I adore my husband and daughter, I walk in the will of Christ.

Posted on October 7, 2010, in Jacob Sheep and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. I want one! I don’t think my tiny puppies would appreciate the livestock but it would be fun to take one home. Maybe in a few years.. 🙂

    • Awww, come on Rachelle! Emma would make a great weed eater at your house! 🙂 I’m sure Dan could use the extra help. 😉

  2. Very pretty girl. I doubt you’ll have trouble finding her a fiber owner!

Leave a Reply

