Raider’s Breeding Group

I finally remembered to take my camera with me when I visited the barn last night at feeding time.  Raider and his girls were sharing a few flakes of hay with their equine buddies and the timing was right to snap a few photos.

100510_7886

Seen left to right are: Cyan, Paisley, Princess (laying down behind Princess is Rose), Hazel, Lily, Raider and Aphrodite.

I always enjoy visiting with this group of ewes, they’re some of my absolute favorites (some additional favorites are not pictured, such as Violet.)  Most of these girls are older and wiser, not inclined to spook and are mostly friendly.  Of course, Violet and Hazel come to greet us which is always so fun.  Princess and Lily are usually not far behind them just listening to us talk to them and often times lay down to chew their cud.

100510_Hazel

Hazel was one of my bottle lambs from 2009.  She has turned in to a stunning ewe physically and personality wise too.  I absolutely love her horns.  She is sired by Kenleigh’s Debonair (lilac four horned ram) and Mud Ranch’s Maud (black and white two horned ewe.)  And though I’d really like to see if I can get lilac lambs from her, I really want to improve her fleece so she’s being bred to Raider.  Her sister Edna, however, will be bred to Kenleigh’s Prescott in hopes that the lilac will come through.  We shall see.

100510_7875

Of course, what’s a photo shoot without a photo of Annie and Violet?  I’m going to keep on doing this tradition and fill an entire multi-photo frame full of Annie/Violet pictures throughout the years.  What a fun project.

100510_7856

Aphrodite proved to be pretty resourceful last night and chose to glean some feed that dropped on to the back of her friend and sister April while Boudicca picks off the ground like a normal sheep.

100510_7868

And there’s our beautiful Cookie-horse.  She’s getting to be an even darker red with the cool fall nights forcing her winter coat to start coming in. 

So here’s Raider’s Girlfriend List:

  1. April
  2. Aphrodite
  3. Boudicca
  4. Princess
  5. Kiara
  6. Rose
  7. Lily
  8. Hazel
  9. Paisley
  10. Serenity
  11. Stephanie
  12. Cyan
  13. Lou Ellen
  14. Sophia
  15. Winifred
  16. Sprinkles
  17. Stella
  18. Violet

I hope the girls will forgive me if I’ve forgotten someone… I’m trying to do it all by memory without my flock book right here.  Once Prescott arrives, and I get his group together, I’ll post another on his girls.

About mudranch

I live in the country, I love to take photos, I'm a shepherdess, I adore my husband and daughter, I walk in the will of Christ.

Posted on October 6, 2010, in Jacob Sheep and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. those are such great shots Joan! i love the one with Annie!! she is such a doll we just love her! 🙂

  2. Wow, that Raider really gets around! 😉 Can’t wait to see you spring babies, I am sure you will get some beauties!

Leave a Reply

