Sun Room Citrus

One tree I’ve always wanted to grow, but never could here in the mountains is citrus – Lemon, lime, tangerine, mandarin (maybe orange and grape fruit for the Hubby but I don’t care for them.)  Now with the new house we can follow in the steps of the previous folks and grow citrus in pots in the Sun Room.

100510_7817

Of course my mom has embraced this idea and bought my first lime, a “Mexican” which is sometimes called a Key Lime in Hawaii.  She also talked my Aunt Denise in to buying us a Mandarin, “Satsuma” (thank you Aunt Denise!) and I bought a “Meyer” Lemon. 

100510_7813

I’ve been reading up on what Citrus need / like and think I can actually pull this off.  I just need to find a good sale on pretty pots now (glazed in large sizes are expensive!) 

100510_7818

My Mandarin already has a lot of fruit on it.  That will be fun – some fresh vitamin C in the winter!

100510_7821

Gracing the Sun Room with it’s presence is also another favorite plant of mine – Bougainvillea.  We cannot grow this plant in the mountains too as we get too cold and our freezes are much too hard.  This beautiful vine grows all over the place in more mild California climates and is prolific in Mexico.  I’ve always admired its and bright cheery blooms and hope to train it up a trellis on a wall in the Sun Room.

100510_7822

We’ll see how I do… Now back to reading.

About mudranch

I live in the country, I love to take photos, I'm a shepherdess, I adore my husband and daughter, I walk in the will of Christ.

Posted on October 5, 2010, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. Looks like you are off to a great start! The Myers is one of my favorites! We have a ton of cirtrus farms in this area. The Bougainvillea will be beautiful, just watch out for those nasty thorns! Happy growing!

  2. Key Limes are so named because they were grown commercially in the Florida Keys, where I spent 15 years. They are so superior to Persian limes. Wish I could grow them here. Key Lime Pie!!

  3. How fun! The Bougainvillea is beautiful. I haven’t heard of it before.

  4. Your plants are beautiful and I love the smell of citrus blossoms. I use to have Bougainvillea covering a large fence in San Diego, they are so colorful.

  5. San Benito Jim

    come down with the truck and I’ll take you over to Little Baja on the coast. . . all sizes. . thats where i got all my glazed ones.

  6. How fun! Lucky you to have a sun room!

Leave a Reply

