Change Can Be Beary Good

Some of you know that we’ve up and moved and probably a lot of you don’t.  Don’t panic, we’re on an adjacent piece to our property but have added the use of 17 acres and a much larger house which is certainly a welcome change.  I do have to admit, though, that seeing someone else’s stuff at my little house is very strange and almost hard to take though I believe we’ve got some great renters.  I’m just not one to accept change all that well even when I know I’ve upgraded.

100110_7691

It seems that Annie has adapted very well and is enjoying having so much room to play in and really loves the big tire swing out on the weeping willow in the back yard.  We also both enjoy having Daddy so close by in the metal shop just a few feet out our front door.

100110_7709

The cats have adjusted remarkably well and Harry is up to his hunting and of course, continuing to keep up his dog-like characteristics.  He follows us everywhere we go.  We are so close to our main road through town now that I do worry about the cats crossing the road but also can’t keep them cooped up in the house, no matter the square footage they have to roam.  My cats love the great out doors, I’ll just have to have faith that they’ll be smart about the cars.

100110_7697

We’ve got some beautiful fruit trees, cherry, apple, plum and pear though the plums are certainly stealing the show right now.  They’re so good, in fact, that we’ve had a visitor.

100110_7742

Upon seeing this clump of hair, I would think it was a horse initially… Except that my horses are not this color, and that they really wouldn’t be this high in a tree, and that well… They’ve never been in this yard before either.  I also know that Abby has been keeping us up at night barking her head off.  Yup, my suspicions are most likely true… Bear.  Talk about the Wild West!  I’ve lived in this town my whole life and have never had so many encounters with wild predator-types as I have in the past 10 months.  I’ve yet to see the little booger but know that it’s a matter of time… He’ll be back to pick some more tasty plums and will more than likely leave another “present” out in the grass, full of pits.

100110_7743

Hubby’s plan is to pick all the plums out of the tree before Mr. Bear gets them all but we’ll see how that plan goes… As good as it may sound.

100110_7728

And though change isn’t always initially welcome in my book, it has a way of worming its way in to your heart and making itself welcome after all.  I’m so thankful for all our blessings and living with the bears at our new home is certainly one to be counted.

090710_7431

More on the house hopefully sooner than later… Life has a mind of its own these days.

100110_7718

About mudranch

I live in the country, I love to take photos, I'm a shepherdess, I adore my husband and daughter, I walk in the will of Christ.

Posted on October 1, 2010, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. It looks like Annie is thoroughly enjoying herself 🙂 That willow tree is HUGE! I hope the bear leaves you alone.

  2. Hey. . . .Yogie’s got good taste. The plums look great. . I’ll be waiting for some jam, OH and I love cherry pie. Love you guys. . and Yogie. (oh yea. . Yogie is a cartoon about a bear in “Jellystone Park”. . used to be on that thing we call a TV) On a serious note, a friend who lives up at Tahoe says that this is the worst year ever for bears breaking into homes. BE CAREFUL!

Leave a Reply

