Blackberry Picking

Annie and I went blackberry picking this morning with our friends and Annie’s Aunt Megan.  We had a great time and though Annie had a small container to fill herself, it didn’t exactly fill up.

As evidenced by her face.

I had a 4.3 litre Tupperware lidded bowl and filled it nearly to the top.  I had done so well at not eating any berries while I picked but right at the end my stomach was complaining that it was lunch time to snarfed away about 50.  It was too irresistable.

There is a plethora of berries in this location and though the ones in the shade were sparse, they were certainly fat.  I also noticed that the vines weren’t as “ouchie” as the ones in the sun.  Perhaps because there wasn’t as much dead growth.  In the sun there were tons and tons of the smaller berries so I was able to tromp in on top of the vines and stand there for 10 minutes picking to my heart’s content.  I then moved on little by little.

In all the snipping of vines with the clippers, Maleah found an odd vine that was interwined with the berries.  We both don’t have any clue what it is, but it does have very sharp little thorns on the stems.  Anyone know what this might be?

Annie and I came home and grabbed some lunch before nap time.  Once nap time ensued, Mommy got to play a little with some still-life photography.  The above was my favorite.

Thank you to everyone for the kind condolences on the loss of my pooch.  I certainly miss him but am doing much better today.  The house is certainly quieter however — which will take some time getting used to.

About mudranch

I live in the country, I love to take photos, I'm a shepherdess, I adore my husband and daughter, I walk in the will of Christ.

Posted on August 19, 2010, in Me, Nature. Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. Looks like a sawbriar, if you have them where you are. Nasty things!

    • Thanks Linda! I hadn’t ever seen something like this around here before. Looked up Sawbriar and it looks a lot like that… I’ll have to ask around.

  2. Yummy! I am loving have a bush in the backyard! 🙂

  3. So jealous! Ours are still green. Precious picture of Annie 🙂

  4. Annie’s face sums it up. Looks like a good time–we know how delicious those are!

Leave a Reply

