Goats or Sheep?

I get the statement a lot, “What kind of goats are those?”  I smile and say, “Actually, they’re Jacob sheep.”  And the reaction is usually about the same… People are thrown off by their horns when I think they should notice the wool, but they don’t.  But here’s some proof, and many other times that I haven’t caught on camera, that they are goat-like sheep in many ways.

About mudranch

I live in the country, I love to take photos, I'm a shepherdess, I adore my husband and daughter, I walk in the will of Christ.

Posted on July 9, 2010, in Jacob Sheep. Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. Brenda Larson

    I get that a lot about our Icelandic sheep as well. Sometimes people aren’t quite sure what to say! But, if they stick around and watch them for awhile, they soon see that they are pretty cool sheep!

    • Interesting that you get a similar reaction out of people with your shetlands. I thought my sheep’s coat pattern also lended a hand at the “goat” comments but maybe it’s just the horns!

  2. My ‘goats’ were just letting a complete stranger pet them through the fence on her morning walk!!! I’m going to have to have a little talk with them about how Jacob sheep should behave 😉 Love your picure with the green leaves framing it.

    • Yes, you’ve got some friendly “goats!” 🙂 I loved how they came in your barn to greet me. I’ve got a big mix, regular Jacob attitude and totally “goat.” 😀

  3. By the way — The ewe lamb in the tree is “Loretta.” She wanted to make sure I put a name on the face. 😉

Leave a Reply

