Happy Mother’s Day!

I have the supreme blessing of knowing a lot of excellent wives and mothers who influence me in my day-to-day life.  Some have had rocky roads of which they’ve battled and come out better than ever, some are fairly young and have the internal compass and divine guidance of which to follow.  Each and every one of them, I admire and they shape me as a mother.  Our society frowns on being a stay at home mom and treat it as something to be looked down upon, as if we have no brains.  Being a stay at home mom is the most rewarding and challenging job any woman can have.  We literally shape the world just by how we nurture (or don’t) our children.  All the day to day activities, the work load that we’re dealt with keeping up a house and property, with dressing the kids and feeding them their meals, with balancing a budget, doing yard chores and keeping our husbands healthy and happy is a lot of work and quite the schedule to keep.  Our day starts very early and ends late at night.  When a little voice cries out in the darkness we are the ones to answer, making sure our husband’s sleep isn’t disturbed because we know he has to wake early to go off to work… Our diligence balances the household.  We are a work force that is over-looked and often under-paid in gratitude but we trudge on and enjoy life as we live it because we know that it’s the right thing to do, to see our children excel under our watch and care.  So, here’s to all you wives and mothers out there; those who work at home and who work away.  We lead busy lives and shape the future of our country.  We have very important jobs and never let anyone tell you otherwise. 

050810_4491

A mother is a person who seeing there are only four pieces of pie for five people, promptly announces she never did care for pie.  ~Tenneva Jordan

The formative period for building character for eternity is in the nursery. The mother is queen of that realm and sways a scepter more potent than that of kings or priests. ~Author Unknown

050810_4495

Being a full-time mother is one of the highest salaried jobs in my field, since the payment is pure love.  ~Mildred B. Vermont

My mom is a neverending song in my heart of comfort, happiness, and being.  I may sometimes forget the words but I always remember the tune.  ~Graycie Harmon

050810_4508

The phrase "working mother" is redundant.  ~Jane Sellman

Motherhood has a very humanizing effect.  Everything gets reduced to essentials.  ~Meryl Streep

050810_4509

I remember my mother’s prayers and they have always followed me.  They have clung to me all my life.  ~Abraham Lincoln

Motherhood is priced
Of God, at price no man may dare
To lessen or misunderstand.
~Helen Hunt Jackson

050810_4535

Some mothers are kissing mothers and some are scolding mothers, but it is love just the same, and most mothers kiss and scold together.  ~Pearl S. Buck

If evolution really works, how come mothers only have two hands?  ~Milton Berle

050810_4544

Sweater, n.:  garment worn by child when its mother is feeling chilly.  ~Ambrose Bierce

When you are a mother, you are never really alone in your thoughts.  A mother always has to think twice, once for herself and once for her child.  ~Sophia Loren, Women and Beauty

050810_4497

An ounce of mother is worth a pound of clergy.  ~Spanish Proverb

She never quite leaves her children at home, even when she doesn’t take them along.  ~Margaret Culkin Banning

050810_4517

Any mother could perform the jobs of several air traffic controllers with ease.  ~Lisa Alther

Happy mother’s day Mom, Ma-in-law, and friends… Thank you for your love and influence.

About mudranch

I live in the country, I love to take photos, I'm a shepherdess, I adore my husband and daughter, I walk in the will of Christ.

Posted on May 9, 2010, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. What a beautiful post Joan! Happy Mothers Day to you! 🙂

  2. Great post Joan. i love the quotes! You are a terrific mom!

  3. BRAVO!!!!! I just read this post and all I can say is WELL DONE!!! Beautiful!

Leave a Reply

