Macro Flowers

I’ve finally discovered what I’ve been doing wrong with my 105mm macro lens and also have found that all of a sudden a tripod is in order!  Now I understand what I have been reading, about macro lenses being best on tripods.  The detail is amazing and the depth of field moves in and out with just the slightest breeze or movement.  I can hardly stand still enough to keep whatever I’ve focused on in focus.  All of this was discovered because I took my focus off of automatic and on to manual… a lot more fun can be had in manual!

042110_ShepherdsPurse

“Shepherd’s Purse”

041810_3013

“Dandelion”

041810_3074

“Flowering Quince”

041810_3035

A busy little bee in a Crabapple

041810_3024

“Crabapple”

Those are just a few of the fun ones… I’ve uploaded all the rest on my Facebook page at www.facebook.com/mudranch and in my Flickr account to your right, though those have been recently buried by my updated sheep-y pictures.

About mudranch

I live in the country, I love to take photos, I'm a shepherdess, I adore my husband and daughter, I walk in the will of Christ.

Posted on April 24, 2010, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. What is the address of your flickr account? I recently opened one, too, because I am taking a class (sort of) through my church in photography. We are the DoLife Photography group, and I am Dun Right on flickr. I like your macro shots, is that a special lens, or is it a setting on your regular lens? I read your blog every chance I get, and really admire your photography. The one of your daughter running along next to the pond is really nice. Linda

  2. You are making me want a Macro lens 😉 Absolutely stunning shots.

    • Thanks Shannon, it is really fun. My favorite painter/artist is Georgia O’Keefe so anything that resembles her big flowers is what I like. 😀 Oh and e-bay was my friend with this lens… It is a 105mm 2.8. I really like it!

Leave a Reply

