Flock goals are showing colors

I think that most people who’ve been following my flock of Jacob sheep know by now that I received the first 11 as “hand-me-downs” from a long time family friend.  He had used the sheep for meat and eating down his pastures and was not interested (to say the least) in registration or really improving on his flock.  They were to do their thing out in the pasture with minimal influence from humans… On that note, I think I inherited some very hardy stock!  Just a couple of the ewes had ear tags from somewhere else (and I sure wish I knew where that was now!) but most were bred right there on his small farm.

“Agatha”

Now the original ladies are getting pretty far up there in age and they’ll be retiring from lambing.  Aggie (pictured above) has not had lambs in a few years and the last one was by mistake anyway.  She was old when we got her and I told her she was to live out the rest of her life right here on Mud Ranch.  A couple of the other ladies I’d like to retire but want to find them a nice pasture someone has that needs to be mowed (Anyone want some little old sheep ladies for company?)  I have kept some of their daughters who have had lambs themselves and so on… We’ve got our generations here for sure.

“Lilly”

A few more I’ve bought from other farms.

“Princess”

Some I’ve “rescued” and brought home from farms that absolutely had to get them new homes as they had no other choice.

Stella & Silas

“Stella” — Sired by Douglas

Then kept first generation ewes…

“Francine” — Sired by Debonair

And second generation ewes…

“Stardust” — Sired by Raider

And third generation ewes.  All the while, learning as I went and wanting to improve upon horns, color ratios and fleece.  I think I’m on the right track as this year’s lamb crop has a lot of gems.

“Susannah” — Aggie’s Granddaughter

I have both beautiful fine fleeces and open fleeces which are consistent from front to back.  The coloring is beautiful, the horns are coming in nice and strong, and the hardiness lives on. 

And though my ewe flock is very important to the out come of lambs, an even bigger influence are the sire’s I’ve had to contribute their genetics.  I’m excited to continue using Raider, Debonair’s son Hudson, and a possible new ram lamb up and coming this fall from none other than Kenleigh Acres.  Each one of my rams have descended from there and Shannon’s wise council and encouragement have put me on the right path.

“Hudson”

Watch for us at Black Sheep Gathering in Eugene, OR again this year!  I’ve already got some yearlings and lambs picked out.

www.mudranchjacobs.com

About mudranch

I live in the country, I love to take photos, I'm a shepherdess, I adore my husband and daughter, I walk in the will of Christ.

Posted on March 4, 2010, in Jacob Sheep. Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. ‘wise council’ – thanks for the good laugh 🙂 You have a good eye and I will always be thankful that fate stepped in and Wrangler stayed here! Your lambs look very nice and how fun to have third generation ewe lambs of your original girls.

  2. Cattle Call Farm

    Love the picture of Hudson, All of your lambs are beautiful. I wish I lived closer, I would take on one of your retirees. Most people around where we live only have Suffolk and I think it’s Boers?? I’m just learning about sheep. My girls show suffolks for the 4 H in our county.

  3. Cattle Call Farm

    No. I’m crazy. The Boers are goats. It’s 4 in the morning here, haven’t had my coffee yet. Sorry about that.

  4. Your flock is progressing beautifully! My dad has a pasture so you could always check with him and see if he wants to put up some of your ladies for a few months. 🙂

Leave a Reply

