20 Strong and Growing

We’ve had lambs every day (except the 3rd) since January 31st.  I counted it up and we’re currently at 20 (to my knowledge — I’m not exactly sure what’s going on in the barn right this second.)  So far, all born have been by our ram Kenleigh’s Raider and are at 10 and 10.  That’s right — same amount in both rams and ewe straight across.  Now how many times does that happen in a flock?

   

So far all the mama’s have been really good with their babies too.  I’m always interested in watching who does what.  You have the ewes that tell their lambs where to be and you’ll see that lamb do exactly as it’s told.  You’ll see a ewe leave her lambs with another ewe and not come back until the lamb needs to eat.  You also have the ewes that are crazy cautious, to the point of standing up all the time until they can’t hold their eyes open any longer. 

Then there are those like Violet — will almost take anything from the lambs.  Even to the point of providing a live jungle gym.  Of course, this is her own lamb so she’s extra tolerant but I sure don’t let Annie do that to me!

And, Violet is really good about sharing her boys with me too.  I get to hold them and so does Annie which really makes her day.  Violet, after all, has to come for some scratchies too!

And the newest in the barn today?  Winifred’s… You guessed it, a ram and a ewe.

— Having bounds of fun here at Mud Ranch

About mudranch

I live in the country, I love to take photos, I'm a shepherdess, I adore my husband and daughter, I walk in the will of Christ.

Posted on February 9, 2010, in Jacob Sheep. Bookmark the permalink. 14 Comments.

  1. Glad to hear you are having such great luck with you lambs. How many will you have when it is all said and done? We had are 2nd calf this week, another bull, not a keeper. I should have 9 calves now and 6 more in the fall. RIght now they are coming slow, which is good, the weather here has been snow, snow and more snow. The stalls in the barn, or should I say maternity ward are all full. And we left a lower shed open like a nursery so the new babies can stay out of the weather. It is interesting to watch the differences in the mommies and how they act with their babies.

    • I actually don’t really have a good idea of how many I should be expecting… I guess it keeps me sane that way. 😉 We’ve still got a good amount of ewes to go though did pull my ram out after about a month and a half of breeding so he may not have “visited” them all.

      Good luck on the calving! Sounds like you’re having quite a lot of snow… I bet the girls appreciate their maternity ward. I sure love going in to the barn visiting all the babies but get tired of all the cleaning it requires. 🙂

  2. Wow, so many bouncing babies! What fun times at Mud Ranch!! So neat that Annie is now old enough to enjoy the babies. What ever happened to your bottle fed babies from last year? Hope they are still part of your flock!

    • Yes, we still have Hazel and Edna. Hazel is becoming quite a good looker and Edna, though still very sweet is cute in a homely sort of way. 😉

  3. I love that picture of Violet with the lambs – such a patient girl. Your lambs are looking great!

    • Thanks Shannon – it’s an interesting year this year. Just had two more singles today, a boy and girl so now we’re 11 and 11. Kiara had a lamb by Hudson, black and white ewe with a lot of white… go figure. 😉 You never know what you’re going to get, for sure! 😀 I hope you feel better soon!

      • Yeah, interesting year for sure! I can’t believe Kiara had a black/white out of Hudson…and a single at that. No, you never know what you are going to get – good and bad 😉

  4. My uncle had sheep, not interesting like yours though. The lambs would race around together like a mob of naughty boys. When they were hungry they would go jump up and down on their moms until they got up and nursed them. Yours seem much more family oriented.

    • Yes Dianne – mine are very much family oriented. Jacobs are known for being good mothers and they really are. I love how different they are… so independent, strong, healthy and good mothers — all naturally. Obviously, from my love of mustangs and Kigers, I’m attracted to the breeds that are all these things with out human intervention (at least small doses.) 😀

  5. OH this is so adorable joan. you got some great shots!!!! i bet they are So cute in person 🙂

  6. ALL these shots are SO adorable joan…LOVE IT! i want one 🙂

  7. Your baby lambs are the cutest, I swear! Great news on all the births…glad everything is going well. How fun you have equal girls and boys! 🙂

  8. Too cute! LOVE the pic of Violet.

Leave a Reply

