Abigail: Friend of the Friendless & An Update

Good gracious, it really doesn’t feel like it’s been 19 days since my last post.  Where have I been?  Well, time does fly and when you get in a routine, certain things get lost amongst the activity.  Things here at Mud Ranch are very wet, just like the rest of the western states I think.  It is just pouring and has been for days, my pastures have standing water all over the place and ditches are swelling, threatening to over-flow.  We feel pretty good though, the last of the tin has been put on the barn, some culverts were put in on the property so things are under control so far… Hopefully it stays that way.

I recently went on a mini-vacation down to central California with Hubby as he was installing one of his machines in a factory down there.  As it turns out, the factory was very close to my Uncle Jim (Hi Unkie Jim!) so Annie and I stayed with him for a couple of days, catching up on life.  We really enjoyed it.  But just before I left, I caught Abby out doing her duty…

She had been lying down just watching the flock/herd move around her and was enjoying the sunlight finally breaking through some clouds.  One of my little yearling ewes approached and was smelling her all over.  Abby decided to get up and meet her face to face.

It cracked me up because she was just acting like she was one of the “Homies.”  They stood next to eachother as life happened, just enjoying eachother’s company.

“Wether” came by and checked out the local scene too.

Then Abby found something to chew on… My little ewe was very curious about what could be so fun to mull around in your mouth. 

Such is life in the country… Slow, easy, and nothing to do but chew on things that are lying around in the pasture.  Well, on second thought, maybe that’s not such a good idea after-all.

About mudranch

I live in the country, I love to take photos, I'm a shepherdess, I adore my husband and daughter, I walk in the will of Christ.

Posted on January 20, 2010, in Abigail, Life. Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. I really enjoyed our visit and honestly wish we did that visiting thing more often. Annie is sooooooo cool. What a great little girl to share your life with. It was really fun watching you do the Mommy thing as for this old dude it seems like a few years ago you were that cute little girl. Really nice to see you. . . . (yes, you too Simon). Come visit anytime! Love you guys!

    • Be careful what you wish for! I had a fun time catching up too… Loved seeing all of you. I will definitely be calling again if and when Simon happens to be heading down that way again.

  2. Glad you are back posting – I’ve missed your updates!

  3. I love the pictures of the dog, sheep, and horse all together 🙂 Funny that the ewe was so taken with Abby.

    Sounds like you had a great trip!

  4. Glad to hear from you! And that you are surviving the rain! That wet-backed horse looks familiar, LOL! That is how mine has looked recently, too. Love the pics of Abby.

Leave a Reply

