Great-Grandfather the Photographer

My parent’s have been cleaning out the house… 26 or so years of stuff have taken over and my Mom has had enough.  They have been going through every crevice from the stairwell closet to the un-used cabinets in the kitchen… It certainly made for a pretty entertaining Christmas as far as second-hand gift giving goes.  But amongst all the junk, some treasures were un-earthed.  Among them were various old photographs of family members and an old album plus the new knowledge that my Great-Grandfather on my Mom’s paternal side was a hobbyist photographer.

Emerson Samuel the First, born in 1896; this was his personal album full of photographs of family and scenics, most of which were taken by him personally. 

My most favorite is this, which is also my banner above.  The lady on the left was my Great-Grandmother, the first wife of Emerson Samuel.  The lady on the right is preparing to take a photograph of her, and holds a camera up to her chest.  I love how the two ladies are dressed to match, and seem to be out to experiment.  I always see pictures that people take of each other, each holding a camera to their face… it is a rather popular thing to do.  But to see a photo of a photo-taker from back in the early 1900’s is a very fun thing for me to see.  This photo seems to tell a story that are now just whispers in my imagination.

My second favorite — two people heading out in a canoe.  I love the light in this picture, the glow and softness.  It is so peaceful.  It makes me wonder how their day ended.

These photos are gorgeous scenics.  The one on the left shows such a calm water with the crystal clear reflection of the trees.  The one on the right reminds me of some photos I’ve taken recently, one of Tangle Blue Lake and the other I entered in the photography show at our local Gallery; “The Next Adventure.”  I can only imagine what these two spots look like now… probably nothing like they did then.  Built up, paved streets, shopping malls… How I’d love to see what the world looked like back then in more detail.

The one on the left in this is most likely is of a Mission here in California.  The lines in this are excellent, and of course, the history.  The one on the left is probably taken near the Mission but does remind me of the tree my cousin got married under a year and a half ago in southern California.  I took some photos of that one too, it was an Australian Fig.  Very similar in structure to the above tree.

And a very fun picture… My Great-Grandfather working in his dark room. 

And here I thought most the family history contained musical talents… turns out we have a photographer too.  This must mean I’m a recessive gene?

About mudranch

I live in the country, I love to take photos, I'm a shepherdess, I adore my husband and daughter, I walk in the will of Christ.

Posted on January 1, 2010, in Family, Me. Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. wow! that is so cool! I had no idea. Love the photos.

  2. Amazing! Photography goes way back in my family too. Treasures.

  3. Wow, what a treasure to have! That is an amazing book! I love the canoe one too, that’d be great enlarged and framed. The pretty holiday bokeh in your pics is great, too!! Happy New year to you and yours!!!

  4. Wow, what a treasure to find 🙂 I love the photo in your banner!

  5. That is so neat! Who knew Photography talent could be inherited! 🙂

  6. A wonderful discovery of the source of your own artist eye…

  7. I love coming across old treasures like that! My mom recently unearthed a catechism book that belonged to my great-grandfather. I’ve been leafing through it, and he drew some sketches on the back inside cover. It was his when he was in high school and I’m in high school now, so that makes it even more interesting for me.

Leave a Reply

