Annie’s 3rd Christmas

We had a wonderful day yesterday… I am constantly amazed at how blessed we truly are.  Not only in life but in family as well.

We started out our day be heading over to my parent’s house and was greeted by Annie’s present… Yes, greeted.  When we arrived we walked through their double glass doors and sitting on the floor was Nana hugging a Collie pup.  Yes, we knew what was happening… Our neighbor had Collie pups back in August and he had offered us one for Annie a while back.  We declined but he was persistent so we finally gave in a few weeks before Christmas.  I was skeptical of the pups, being raised with the best dog in the world that was a rough coat Collie, I have a deep love for the breed but have been disappointed (to say the least) in my parent’s replacement for “Henry.”  Their newer Collie, Newton (though he’s now 10) is seriously dumber than a door nail.  He is perfectly worthless so I’ve been very hesitant believing the breed to be ruined by shows like so many others have been.  But when I visited my neighbor’s pups I was instantly attacted to a male that looked just like my beloved Henry.

So meet Hank, our newest CGD or Child Guard Dog.  Henry was my guard dog and followed me every where saving me from coyotes, saving my mom from stampeding mules, crossing the river though he hated to swim just to follow me on horse back… He did it all and I have hope that Hank will be that for Annie. 

So far Hank has proven to be extremely calm and loving.  He doesn’t jump up on Annie though her face is within reach and he has stayed home and stollen the heart of Abby our LGD.  So far, so good.

I think Annie had a bit of sensory over-load and certainly had a hard time waiting to open presents until her other Grandparents arrived.  It was a good lesson in patience and thankfulness and I do think we won out in the end… though she certainly won out in the present department.

I’m just going to feature a couple very loving gifts sent by family… the first is this very handsome hand knit sweater from Cousin Kate!  Oh my gosh we love it!!  Thank you so much Kate — I’ll be sure to get a pic of Annie in it and show it to you.  It is so beautiful!

Next is a very thoughtful gift from a lady who we call Aunt Glenda who was my “other mom” as I grew up.  She made Annie an apron and included very handy baking tools sized just for little hands.  There’s a rolling pin, a wire whisk, two spreading spatulas and a wooden spoon!  Annie wanted to wear the apron right off and did so for the rest of the day.  It was a big hit! 

We all received so many wonderful gifts from family and friends.  We are so thankful and rejoice in the birth of our Savior.  We had a wonderful day and are now enjoying the wintery days and our new friend Hank.

Okay, and now I can show off my present —

New felted wool sheepy slippers!  Thank you Papa and Mema!  They’re very comfy and warm.

I hope you had a wonderful Christmas too.

About mudranch

I live in the country, I love to take photos, I'm a shepherdess, I adore my husband and daughter, I walk in the will of Christ.

Posted on December 26, 2009, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 9 Comments.

  1. Ahhh, I remember Henry! So glad you guys had a great Christmas!

  2. yea! I hope Hank turns out to be a Henry! He was such a great dog. We were going to call you all yesterday, then got distracted and forgot. duh. Tomorrow we are headed to Mom’s and will try again tomorrow night! I am glad Annie liked the sweater. Mom LOVED her pillow and has been using it at every meal and to work on the puzzle. Merry Christmas!

  3. Yup– Henry was a special dog and so was his predessor ” Gus”. Hank sure reminds us of good old Henry. Sooo glad you got him too.

    ps–It’s scary–Mom says “he has potential”. As you know, she said that about Newt too.

  4. What a lucky little girl. Hank is very handsome! I love the sweater and apron and your slippers are AWESOME!!! Sounds like you had a wonderful day.

  5. Oh, I LOVE old faishoned collies! Ever since I was a girl and read all of Albert Payson-Terhune’s book “The Heart of a Dog” with stories about Lad, Wolf, and others. Annie will be in good hands (er…paws) with Hank at her side. What a lucky girl!

  6. Hank and Annie are going to be a great pair 🙂

    Love those slippers! Are they handmade?

    • Hi Linda – no, they’re not handmade but I can see how they could be pretty easily! They’re made by a company called Haflinger and were purchased from woolrich.com.

  7. What a wonderful addition to the family! Happy Holidays!

  8. What a fun family holiday! That new puppy looks so sweet! I hope he is Annie’s “Lassie.” I had a collie for a while as a child, her name was Cassie. She chased cars, so my parents had to find a new home for her. you know, I rarely see collies around anymore. Lots of labs, Golden, and Aussies, but not collies. Bummer. They are handsome dogs.

Leave a Reply

