Photo Show & Cards

Last Saturday I attended my Reception for the Artists at the Highland Art Center in the Big Town.  We had fun mingling and being able to really look at all the photos that were accepted in to the show.  There were some that were awarded and I was kind of surprised, they were certainly not something I would have picked but I know the Juror has his own tastes and reasoning — which, for the most part, made sense.

110709_6155

Here’s the photo titled, “Serenity,” thanks to my mom.

110709_6156

And the one titled, “The Next Adventure,” thanks to Hubby.

110709_6157

And a blurry picture of me next to my photos, thanks to my mom.  So, the biggest thing I learned is to frame with a black frame and mat with a white mat, that way the focus is on the photos — makes perfect sense, hanging in the gallery.  I was trying to make the pictures pop better so they’d look good in a home but that shouldn’t be my objective.

Anyway, we then walked around to the other galleries on main street to see what else was on display during our monthly “Art Cruise.”  Here is some favorite pottery I saw at one gallery.

110709_6160

:::

110709_6161

The two photos above are of some pieces done by the same lady who lives locally.  I instantly fell in love with her work though my favorite, the pot above, was a bit high in price.  I’m sure the price reflects a large percentage that the gallery has commissioned from the artist.  I noticed her work in the gallery my photos were in and the prices were more reasonable — I’m thinking I may have to consider a couple as Christmas presents.

110709_6158

These three were also done by a local artist whom has his own pottery shop there on main street as well.  I have quite a few pieces of his and it is a shop we often take people to so they can take home a small piece of our county.  I love his pottery and have it in different forms throughout the house: vases, salt & pepper shakers, soup bowls, creamer & sugar, serving bowl, pie plates and the like.  I think most people around here has something of his, it just wouldn’t be right if you didn’t.

111009_6271

Speaking of Christmas, I’ve just had these Christmas cards printed up at moo.com.  They are really nice!  I’ve done the barn in the snow scene taken up in Lakeview, Oregon about a month ago now.  They come with a nice brown or natural envelope and feature a quote inside.

111009_6272

It is a quote by Helen Steiner Rice, “Bless us Lord, this Christmas, with quietness of mind; Teach us to be patient and always to be kind.”

In case you’re looking for a few Christmas cards, I’ll be listing these for sale in my Etsy shop.

 

 

About mudranch

I live in the country, I love to take photos, I'm a shepherdess, I adore my husband and daughter, I walk in the will of Christ.

Posted on November 10, 2009, in Me, Photography. Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. What an exciting thing for you, Joan! Giggled at your mom comment. Poor mom!

    It’s hard to know how to best frame artwork. I was invited to do a cowboy poetry and art show last year (I chickened out), and one of the more seasoned people told me to mat but not frame, and to buy cheap because the buyer would just rip off and reframe anyway.

  2. A plain frame and mat would have drawn more attention to the main event – your photos.
    Your cards are really nice and an excellent choice of a quotation.

  3. So exciting! congrats on your first show…as for the pottery…I have one word for you…BARTER! You would be surprised how many people would like to trade for one of your gorgeous photos.

  4. Your framed prints are goregous and would look great in anyones home! Congrats on your first gallery show! Hopefully this will be the first of many for you! 🙂

  5. Joan: Check out the Behind the Bit blog today–it’s all about Kigers doing dressage, you’ll be so excited! http://behindthebit.blogspot.com

Leave a Reply

