Adventures of a D300

I haven’t had the chance to really put Big Girl to the test yet, I’m looking forward to that day though it may be toward the end of the week.  So far, since the days are ending quickly, I’ve not been able to actually go out and shoot in what would be considered good light.  But, I have been extremely impressed with how the D300 can perform in low light situations.

110809_6184

As most of you know, I’ve been part of a challenge over at the Equine Photographer’s Network, and so far I’m still in.  I have had to go out and shoot after the sun has gone over the nearest mountain many times though. Despite the ‘noise’ that the high ISO’s have at times, I have to admit I wouldn’t have been even able to take those photos with my D50.  The D50’s ISO level stops at 1600 where the D300 goes up to 3200 — much more photographic opportunities!

110809_6224

I cannot tell you how dark it was when I took this photo, and look at the detail in the foreground.

I’ve also been very surprised on how much faster the Big Girl D300 is compared to Little Girl D50.  If you let your finger barely rest on the shutter release button a little bit long, you will take multiple photos.  This will come in very handy for action shots of horses.

110809_6229

So, we’ve been enjoying each other.  I’ll let you in on some of my favorite features in the next couple of posts.

Until then — Joan at Mud Ranch

About mudranch

I live in the country, I love to take photos, I'm a shepherdess, I adore my husband and daughter, I walk in the will of Christ.

Posted on November 9, 2009, in Photography. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

