Photography Show – Results

Before I get too involved in my tales from yesterday, I wanted to say that the photos I posted in yesterday’s Photography Show! post were of the gallery itself and not the ones I entered… though, the last one was a contender down to the last minute.

Anyway, the critique went really well.  It was very interesting to hear what the judge liked about certain photos and what he didn’t.  So many things he said were something I subconsciously liked or disliked but couldn’t put it in to words so it was really nice to hear them put in to words.  There was one photo that was a detailed picture of some moss growing on a rock or a log, not sure which.  Anyway there was a natural line that took off from the lower right up to the upper left and it naturally lead your eye straight away from the photo and out in the atmosphere.  The Judge asked the artist (at the artist’s request – he wanted to know why that picture wasn’t chosen to be in the gallery show) why he took the picture?  The photographer had no answer, so I think that is a very good thing for me to ask of myself with each picture I take. 

102209_5674

This was one of the chosen photos which will be hung in the gallery.  I will take pictures of my two out of three that were chosen on the 7th of November at the Reception for the Artists. 

Anyway, thankfully I had an explanation for both of mine that were accepted, even if it is just for myself.  The above was the pretty fall colors, the light filtering through the trees and the way the road continues on to make you curious and spark your imagination as to where it leads.  Hubby named it, “The Next Adventure.”  I like it.

102209_5678

 

The above photo was also chosen and I like it because of the pretty location, the water, the smooth rocks and the fall colors.  I like how the log grabs your eye and sends it up to the yellow foliage and then back down the water again, so you really end up looking and following through the photo.

The Judge did have a very different taste than I do, he actually did not include some gorgeous photos that I was immediately attracted to because they looked “too much like a post card.”  Strange.  I often think of my photos as if they were postcards… Would I grab one and pull it off the shelf to buy?  He liked more abstract things with lines and I noticed he loved movement or implied movement while a couple he chose for awards looked blurred to me, he liked the blur.  Funny how different people can be with their tastes.

So, I at least made it in to the showing which is my award.  I’m looking forward to seeing them hanging in the gallery next to all the great photographs.

And, for the one that didn’t make the cut:

Sister

It’s okay though, I was expecting it not to, or else this one to make it and the other two not to.  But it is a personal favorite of mine for many personal reasons… It will continue to hang in my house.

About mudranch

I live in the country, I love to take photos, I'm a shepherdess, I adore my husband and daughter, I walk in the will of Christ.

Posted on October 28, 2009, in Me, Photography. Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. Congrats on making it into the show! Hope to see some pictures from the exhibit once it is up! 🙂

  2. Congratulations on making to the big show, Joan! I like both of the photos that were chosen.

    This weekend we were at a horse show and my 12 year old niece came to watch. She and Darling tried to place the horses in the classes, and my niece told me she’d gotten it all wrong. I told her it was simply a matter of opinion, and that maybe the judge had gotten it all wrong 🙂 She was confused, but the rider sitting next to me smiled.

  3. sounds great AND educational! You have a great eye for your subject in your photos–you can tell that you are an artist, and not “just” a photographer. Your photos always remind me of great paintings. Some things like composition and placement, you seem to find naturally–other people have to study for years to do that! You can tell that you have passion as well as talent. I hope this is the first of many shows for you!

  4. Good for you! What a neat opportunity. The “question” is a good one and one I’ll keep in mind. Thanks for sharing!

  5. Joan, of course I loved them all , but still like the Kiger one. How many horses have such great leg barring like that. Thats my favorite and I bet he wasn’t “horse” person. Keep up the good work, even if poor old Abigail gets left out. Tee Hee

    • LOL Lana… About Abby… I’ve been trying to drum up some content including her… We’ll get some soon. 😉 Thank you so much for the compliments.

  6. Two out of three is very good! Congrats!

  7. SOOOO great that you got in the show and it sounds like you did great!!! you know i find it really hard to have a “judge” critique my photos because to me it is MY personal art, and the way I wanted something in the photo to be portrayed, and usually the judges ideas are SOOO bizarre!All your photos are incredibe! I love the last shot of your horse….i would have it hanging too! 🙂

Leave a Reply

