Photography Show!

I’ve been meaning to put a few pieces in to our local gallery for the past few years.  I’ve just never “gotten around to it” and often find that as an excuse for things I’m not so sure of.  But recently my Great Aunt Joan was visiting and she definitely has the gift of encouragement and lit a fire under me to get some pieces in.  So, I’ve entered three photographs in to the Highland Art Center’s annual juried photography show.

102609_5760

I went to drop off the pictures yesterday and of course, picked the poor lady’s brain; “What happens if my photos aren’t selected, will I get a call?  What exactly will the judge be looking for when selecting pieces to be exhibited?  Should I bother coming to the critique at 3 pm on Tuesday?”  Gulp… She highly recommended going to the critique.  While I believe it will be a very good learning experience, I am a bit nervous to hear what the judge has to say about my photos.  I know I get a lot of people saying how pretty they are and how good of a photographer I am but… now I’ve put myself in to the group of people who show and I’m having a hard time thinking of myself as good enough to show.  I think I’ve moved “those types” up on the pedestal so high that I don’t think it’s an attainable position.

102609_5761

But, even if they weren’t selected, I’ll let you all know and post the photos I put in anyway.  And, I’ll just have to enjoy visiting this cute little building and hearing what the judge has to say about all of the photographs that were selected… So, I’ll be back later on to tell you all how it went.  Wish me luck!

102609_5759

About mudranch

I live in the country, I love to take photos, I'm a shepherdess, I adore my husband and daughter, I walk in the will of Christ.

Posted on October 27, 2009, in Me, Photography. Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. I predict you’ll get a lot of compliments, whether your lovely work is accepted or not! Good for you for taking that step, and good for Great Aunt Joan for encouraging you!

  2. Way to go! You’ve got my vote.

  3. Hey–good luck!!!

    That is one benefit of art school…we had to undergo countless critiques. Painful at first…excruciating actually…but then, really useful. Just think of yourself as benefiting from all those other years of experience from the critics…hearing their words can make your work better…I mean, you can’t be everywhere at once, or know everything at once, so other opinions…good, bad, indifferent, can really only hone what you already know. Just don’t lose perspective–your stuff is beautiful! and, if someone can offer something that can help your future photos, great! if not, write it off. it doesn’t make your work less valid at all!

  4. Good Luck! I really like the one on the bottom. Take what you can from the critiques, but photographs are works of art and everyone will see something different!

Leave a Reply

