Fire Update – It’s a Beautiful Day

Last night I was sleeping to the beautiful sound of chain saws in the distance.  I commented to Hubby at one point that that was the first time I actually enjoyed trying to sleep while they ran.  I also heard as I was “sleeping” the creaks and squeeks of bull dozers, as it turns out we wake up this morning and have a 5 bull dozer strike team parked right outside.  They had been blazing a trail down the side of the mountain and good news, they’ve got the whole blaze circled which I believe to mean it is fully contained.  Hopefully the wind will stay down today and give us some relief – it was really humming yesterday.

081209_4284

My obedient animals following the quad up in to our upper pasture which is next to the house.

An interesting story for you though, the chainsaws last night were ran by our “con crews” which are prisoners on the good behavior list who get to live out at a Cal-Fire camp in the rural areas somewhere and they’re actually paid to work fires and other places though it is only cents a day.  These guys are amazing to watch as they fight fire with chainsaws, mc clouds, axes and other tools – they literally go straight up mountains and what you see behind them is a perfectly clear trail of dirt, where brush and debris used to be.  Anyway, there was a 70 man con crew working last night (those were the saws I heard) and guess what was following them?  Two mountain lions.  Yeah, in my neighborhood there are two very brave mountain lions which does not sit well with me at all.  So, now I’m extra thankful I have a good guard dog like Abby on the watch and that we lock our sheep in the barn at night (not last night though, we were scared it would burn.) 

I’ll try and get some more pictures but so far this morning, we’re sitting prettier than we were yesterday.  Thank you all for your prayers and concern, it’s wonderful to have friends and family like you!

081209_4285

About mudranch

I live in the country, I love to take photos, I'm a shepherdess, I adore my husband and daughter, I walk in the will of Christ.

Posted on August 13, 2009, in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Glad things are looking better today!! It was a sleepless night for us too, we were so worried about you all up there. Stay safe and know we are all praying for the fires to be fully contained by the end of the day!

  2. They must have SEEN the mountain lions, huh? Do you think they were actually hunting men, or the animals that may have been running from the fire? Or just curious youngsters?

  3. That is fantastic news about the fire being surrounded. We will continue the prayers and send some of our rain down your way. That is scary about the mountain lions. I can’t tell you how many stories I have heard of them following hunters – very eerie.

Leave a Reply

