My Morning according to my Camera

080409_3896

First I’m awakened at 5:15 am because Hubby wants to get up early.  The only station my little alarm clock gets is the country station and by the time 5:30 am rolls around, I’m thoroughly annoyed with the music (sorry country lovers, but they play the same song over and over and over…) so I threaten to roll out of bed to turn it off.  Hubby says, “No, I’ll get up” and he does.  He takes a shower and heads off to work and at around 5:45 am I get up, throw on some clothes and head out to feed.  Abby and my bike await (it’s a bike because that’s what Annie likes to call it.)

080409_3897

Well, are you coming?

I start the ol’ thing up and let her idle a little bit then head over to the hay pile.

080409_3903

I roll, push and pull a bale on to the back of the bike while Abby… (notice the butt in the upper right corner?)

080409_3904

“Guards” and is “On Duty.”  No help with loading the hay from her.

080409_3908

I load a few flakes on the front of the bike for the rams then jump on and start to roll toward the ram pen.

080409_3910

Once I’m almost there, I realize that I have forgotten my pocket knife in my a.) Pants Pocket in the bathroom, b.) on the counter, c.) where on earth is that knife anyway?  So I stop at the house and go to retrieve it.

080409_3916

Meanwhile the horses are waiting “patiently” though an irritated stance is taking shape.

080409_3917

A couple of glares and some yawns.

080409_3918

And some more yawns.

Did you know that barbed wire was invented by an equine veterinarian in the slow season?  It’s true — or not.  But the good thing is, that when you have less horses, you have less injuries.

080409_3923

So after I cut open the twin and feed the horses their flakes, I jump back on the quad and drive up to the big gate by the barn and fling it open as fast as can be before the cattle catch up.

080409_3924

Once I’m in, I proceed down the pasture peeling off the flakes one by one and tossing them on the ground as I roll slowly.  It isn’t uncommon for a cow to bump in to me or me into a cow as they want to feed right from the quad.  I’m normally surrounded and they don’t like to let me through.

080409_3928

I then proceed down to where Sir Loin is currently being housed and throw him a very large pile of hay.

080409_3931

Everything seems very peaceful — the horses are content.

080409_3932

The cows are content.

080409_3940

Not anymore!  Muwaha-ha-ha-ha!

080409_3943

Once the sheep are out, it’s like a plague taking over the hay piles.  They’re everywhere.

080409_4000

So I stand and watch them all enjoy their breakfast as one huge happy family and watch as they all interact with eachother.

080409_4001

The birds even join in.

080409_4004

080409_3982

Everything seems so peaceful until I see this.

080409_4006

Aww, look!  The 3 month old lambs are taking a peaceful stroll down a country road.

080409_4010

Obviously they have some mischief on their little woolly minds.

080409_4016

And so goes my morning.

080409_4019

I’ve really got to replace that gate.

080409_3974

All this in my flip flops.  I really don’t think I’m the only one — Hubby thinks I am, but I am thinking this attire is not limited to California.

About mudranch

I live in the country, I love to take photos, I'm a shepherdess, I adore my husband and daughter, I walk in the will of Christ.

Posted on August 4, 2009, in Me and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. What a beautiful way to start the day!

  2. Now I feel like a total slacker. Great post.

    p.s. flip-flops are standard morning-chore attire in New Mexico, too

  3. great morning pics! 🙂 Love the Kigers yawns and the mob of Jacobs descending on the hay piles. That would have NOT made me very happy to see the youngsters strolling down the road, I take it they followed you/herded back fairly easily? Summer finds me in flip flops quite often. 🙂

  4. What an awesome post 😉 and no you are not the only one that does chores in flip flops, even up here in Oregon they can be found. It is a sad day when the rain starts and I can’t wear my flip flops out to do chores anymore.

    I love that picture of Abby up on the hay.

    Those lambs look like they have done that once or twice before.

    Great pictures as always!

  5. I live in my flip flops. Of course, I don’t have quite the amount of livestock you do…but still, I feed the chickens, bunnies, dogs and cats in them! I am very envious…you really do live in paradise!

  6. Great story and great photos, as always 🙂
    I’m too clumsy to wear flip-flops 😦

  7. Yep.. hate to admit it , I even have worn my flipflops when old the horse for the farrier.. bad horse Mommy!

  1. Pingback: Desperate Times Call For Desperate Measures « Mud Ranch’s Real Dirt

Leave a Reply

