A visit with some Haflingers

My friend Dixie picked me up yesterday and dragged me to the Big City though it was scorching outside to take a look at some Haflingers.  The place had about 52 of them, though we only saw a handful of that number. 

071509_3329

The farrier was there at the time and had a couple cross tied in the alley way at each time.  I was very impressed on how calm they were and didn’t jump even when Annie went bouncing around.

071509_3358

At one point, after Dixie had her mount saddled and ready to go, we actually walked the little horse underneath the cross ties of the other horses and no one said a word — very odd for horses and it made me a little jumpy because I’m used to “normal” horses.  Mine would have had to argue or throw some sort of little fit while another horse walked by in such close proximity.

071509_3331

Dixie rode a very cute little mare named Fancy.  She was super sweet and oh so gentle.  Dixie has been having trouble with trusting horses the last few years and felt very comfortable on Fancy. 

071509_3332

They cruised around the small arena and even got up to a very fast trot.  Fancy wasn’t feeling energetic enough in the heat to pick up a lope.  Dixie will be heading back down to the Big City tomorrow for another ride and then possibly a trail ride next week on one of the Haflingers.  I’m supposed to go with her for the trail ride — we’ll see.  It does sound like a lot of fun though!

About mudranch

I live in the country, I love to take photos, I'm a shepherdess, I adore my husband and daughter, I walk in the will of Christ.

Posted on July 16, 2009, in Horses and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. My cousin in the Yukon has Haflingers and crosses. She calls them pigs on sticks because of their stout bodies, but she dearly loves their rock-solid temperament, their load-carrying ability, and their hardy, easy-keeping constitutions. I got to ride some when we were up there for a family reunion. Check out her website: http://www.heartbar-ranch.com/

    • That’s really neat Michelle! I was pretty impressed with them — seems like you really can’t “spook” them. I also like their build too, very sturdy and hardy. Neat little breed. Thanks for the link.

  2. Hey,
    Dixie looks good on a haflinger! YAY!! Is she thinkin about getting one of these horses? I know she was talkin to me about it! I sure hope she does! Well, anyways talk to you soon!
    Jessica

  3. They are beautiful horses! I love their color. Fancy looks like a sweet girl.

  4. Hi, I just stumbled onto your website – very nice! You take beautiful photos, and your little girl is just adorable. My guys are 10 and 14 already – you won’t believe how fast the time will fly so treasure every moment!

    I have been looking for the ‘perfect’ Haflinger for over a year now – does the farm you went to sell Hafies? If so, could you give me their website?

    Take care,
    Gretchen

Leave a Reply

