Leaving on a Loaded Down Truck

I’m scurrying around trying to pack everything I need to join Shannon again at her lovely home up in Oregon for a couple of days.  Hubby is traveling on up to Portland for business (installing a machine) and I talked him into dropping Annie and I off for some felting and fleece lessons.

070709_3201

So while I wandered around the pasture, saying “see ya later” to my girls, they all enjoyed the shade of the oaks on a sunny afternoon.  It’s always funny to me how mama’s and their babies will snuggle even after the baby is just as big, if not bigger, than her mama — Lily and Bubbles, above, for example.

070709_3193

I’ve got a stack of registration forms, filled out with pictures included, ready to take to Shannon (the registrar is going to have her work cut out!)  I’ve also got my ONE washed fleece in the tub ready to meet Shannon’s carder.  I am a little disappointed I didn’t get a couple more washed, but oh well, I’m sure I can learn enough with just one. 

070709_3199

I’ve checked on the weather for Oregon, to see what it’s like and yes, I believe I’ll be taking a sweater.  I’ve been  used to 80-90 degree weather and it looks like it’s going to be partial clouds and in the 70’s up there.  That’s a bit chilly for this sissy California girl.  I like having sweatshirts on, when a lot of other people wouldn’t be thinking of wearing them.

070709_3198

I’ve got to finish writing out my instructions on how to take care of this menagerie for my dad and father-in-law to figure out.  I also have to secure my last dog crate — I’ve got three now, and need four to bring home four sheep!  One of them is not mine, it is being brought down for a Jacob breeder down in the Bay Area (5 hours south) and will be staying until she can pick it up.  At least we’re bringing him toward her half way, so she doesn’t have to travel as far.

070709_3177

The only thing I’m concerned about is not having my mocha in the morning… Hey Shannon?  Got a Starbucks near by? 😉  Until then, I’ll let sleeping sheep lye.

About mudranch

I live in the country, I love to take photos, I'm a shepherdess, I adore my husband and daughter, I walk in the will of Christ.

Posted on July 8, 2009, in Me. Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Aw – love of the pics of these beauties! Hope you have a great time!

  2. Silly Joan, this is OREGON. Of course we have Starbucks (and a lot of other, small, locally owned espresso stands that are even better)! The closer you get to their homebase of Seattle, the more there are.

  3. Hope you have a great trip! 🙂

  4. Sounds like it will be a great trip – enjoy 😀

    I hear ya on the sweatshirt – I believe I was the only person to wear a down jacket in the Florida Keys every winter!

Leave a Reply

