Sunday Stills — Wildflowers, Leopard Lily

We live in a gorgeous area of California, somewhat still hidden from the daily rush of the busier places.  Over looking us is a large wilderness area which we call locally, “The Alps.”  They are rugged snow capped mountains of granite which house multiple lakes and creeks with lush meadows.  Amongst all this breathtaking beauty is my absolute favorite flower, the Leopard Lily (I commonly call it a Tiger Lily which it is not.)

062709_2872

They grow in very wet, shady areas right on the edge of running water.  I have often seen them in marshy meadows where they are growing in a couple of inches of water — often they are neighbors of fern.

062709_2874

I had gone fishing with Hubby and a friend up at the base of the Alps a week or so ago and as we fished down the creek, I had noticed a small stream pouring in to the creek.  I followed it up the side of the mountain a little ways and found a patch of my flowers.  The sight of them always makes little butterflies in my stomach.

062709_2876

This was a nice sized patch but it is even better when you find a whole meadow full of them.  Their elegance is incomparable.

062709_2883

Hubby recently came back from one of his log moving adventures to our friend’s mill and brought back a small bouquet from our friend’s spring.  He knew that a little handful of these lilies is the way to this girl’s heart.

062709_2888

The Leopard Lily is so delicate and fine, the colors are vibrant.  I enjoy every second of enjoying them — especially with my lens!

About mudranch

I live in the country, I love to take photos, I'm a shepherdess, I adore my husband and daughter, I walk in the will of Christ.

Posted on July 5, 2009, in Nature Photography and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 9 Comments.

  1. Beautiful. The colors are very relaxing. The photos excellent!

  2. they are beautiful and you did a good job capturing them!

  3. Wrensong Farm

    They DO look like a little Tiger Lily! They’re gorgeous! I don’t think I have ever seen them before. It always amazes me the small, delicate and beautiful flowers that grow in the wilderness.

  4. Great little Lily, thanks for identifing it! A wonderful little specimen and your photos are wonderful! 🙂

  5. These are beautiful!!

  6. My parents have a bunch of those on their property. I have always called them Tiger lily as well. Thanks for identifying them and sharing the beautiful pictures.

  7. We don’t have these in Texas, but every time I travel and come across one I feel the same way! Gorgeous!

  8. Absolutely gorgeous flowers!

Leave a Reply

