Playing In The Weeds

062209_2805

Mud Ranch’s Keefer

We used to have all these “beautiful” weeds all throughout our pasture, next to the house.  Thankfully, and at my request, my Dad brought over the tractor and mowed them all down. 

062209_2807

Chicory Lane Emma

I did want to show you what a nice background they made for pictures though.  Something that drove me a little crazy because they were taking over this patch of ground, proved to make for some nice pictures.  I would have sent Annie out in to them for pictures but the smell of those things isn’t very pleasant and they also irritate my skin.

062209_2814

Mud Ranch’s Elvin

Something about this picture (and a tip to consider,) it is taken with me standing up looking at Elvin through my lens.  Normally I like to get down on my knees to make for a more attractive photo.  Also, if you’ll notice there’s a distracting blur up in the left hand photo which happens to be Keefer’s head.  When you take photos, look from corner to corner to corner to corner making sure that your whole viewing area is clear from distraction.  You can get away with noisy backgrounds if you have a shallow depth of field (large aperture number and thus makes for a very blurred background.)

062209_2823

Kenleigh’s Lilly

You will notice in a lot of my photos, the subject is off to the side, such as Lilly here.  I could have put her smack-dab in the center but the photo would not be as attractive.  I like to have a good sized void to either side.

062209_2817

Mud Ranch’s Champagne “Bubbles”

The shade is also a better place to take photos especially if your background is shaded too.  If you take a photo of your subject in the shade, but the background is bright the bright spot will be a distraction (this is mainly for portraits.)

Just some helpful tips (hopefully) — enjoy!

Don’t forget to go on over to Mud Ranch’s Mercantile to become a follower for your chance to win a pack of my Lupine Cards!

About mudranch

I live in the country, I love to take photos, I'm a shepherdess, I adore my husband and daughter, I walk in the will of Christ.

Posted on June 26, 2009, in Jacob Sheep, Photography. Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. Lovely pictures (and a lovely ewe lamb – Bubbles is quite striking!)

  2. Thank you for the tips! I’m just beginning with a new (and much more “talented”) camera, and I can use all the advice I can get.

    “The shade is also a better place to take photos”
    Now that’s advice I shoulc’ve read before I took my wildflower pictures for Sunday Stills!

  3. I know there are a lot of “daisy” type weeds out there, but your’s look a lot like Chamomile. I’m just looking at different breeds of Sheep. My husband and I are looking at a small ranch in Eastern Oregon. The whole web site is informative, as well as fun to look at and read.

    • Hi Mara, thank you for stopping by. The weeds are not chamomile though are very very similar — I agree. They also do not smell like chamomile, but have a strong odor that isn’t becoming at all. 🙂 Good luck with your property hunting… The Jacob breed is fun!

Leave a Reply

