Sunday Stills — Telephone Lines

This week at Sunday Stills, our challenge was telephone/power lines and billboards.  We don’t have any billboards around us for at least an hour away and I wasn’t planning on going to the Big City just to shoot them.  But, I do have telephone lines all around.

Our property is about 40 acres and our “upper pasture” is around 12just by itself.  Back in the late 50’s and early 60’s when the dam for our local lake/ reservoir (see yesterday’s post) was being built, our property was built up with trailers for the “dam workers” to live in.  Our house we are in now was actually a bath house with a crowned floor, potty holes and a boys and girls side — that’s all gone of course.  But what remains of that little trailer village is the telephone line that guts our property when it should have been moved back to follow the power lines that go off the backside in a straight line, instead of a U shape.

052809_1884

Though we live in the country, almost every where I take photos around my pasture, I get these lines and poles.  I’ve tried cropping them, cloning them, and shooting around but somehow they end up being right there in the view. 

052809_1885

Even shots of the sky are bothered.

052809_1887

I guess if it’s dark enough outside, you can’t tell they’re there… kind of. 

Someday I plan to have the phone company out to re-route them and then I’ll have a clear view of the mountains around me.  Until then, I have to be creative to get them out of my photos.

Enjoy your Sunday!

About mudranch

I live in the country, I love to take photos, I'm a shepherdess, I adore my husband and daughter, I walk in the will of Christ.

Posted on May 31, 2009, in Sunday Stills. Bookmark the permalink. 13 Comments.

  1. Great Work! I like the sky shot very much! But the first one is the perfect shot for this weeks challenge! 😀

  2. Great pictures. Thanks for sharing the history of the poles on your property!

  3. I love the second shot nice job!

  4. They are still great shots, even with the lines..:-)

  5. Your pics are so nice you hardly even notice the powerlines! Awesome job!

  6. Like that second sunset shot. You almost don’t see the lines and poles in any of your shots. You have some beautiful land, neat history on it too.

  7. Beautiful shots, you don’t really see the powerlines.~

  8. Well, I would want to get them to reroute the poles too. Your shots are nice!

    • Actually I want to see if we can keep the poles… Take them down of course. But they make great fence posts! 😀

  9. The sunset is just stunning!

  10. Great pics! The colors in the second one are fantastic.

  11. Wow, love the sound of your property.
    The sky in the second one is almost strong enough to forget about them.

  12. Love the sunset. I had to really look for the powerlines in this one. Nice job.

Leave a Reply

