Miscellanious

Today was a pretty quiet day for Annie and I.  Hubby is away on business so we’re holding down the fort, though that’s not all that bad considering we’ve got a lot of family and friends around to help if there arises such a need.  But we spent most the day outside to Annie’s request.  I was happy to oblige since our weather is around 70 degrees!  The daffodils are starting to pop and so are our fruit trees.

032609_0026

Last year the fruit trees popped and were quickly fried by the frost.  We had absolutely no fruit last year, not an apple.  It was quiet depressing and we’re hoping that the frost will hold off until the blossoms are done or the blossoms will just freeze in time (not in temperature) and hold out for better days.  Looks like they’re determined to open.

032609_0013

Our last load of hay came in the day before yesterday.  We have ten ton of hay sitting out there by our driveway.  We feed about a bale and five flakes per feeding so we tend to go through it pretty quickly.  The good thing is that our grass will start coming in good now, as long as we continue to get rain… Better get the tarp on!  Actually, maybe I’ll leave it off, then the rain will be more apt to come!

032609_0023

Annie has found out that hay is fun to chew on, you may see a very small sprig sticking out of her lips there.  She had also picked a dandy lion blossom and is inspecting it in her hand.

032609_0016

You can tell this picture was taken after she got up from her afternoon nap… The bear still in hand.  He’s a very important feature at nap and night-night time… She’s had him since she was a little smaller than him!  Now she can carry him around in a death grip.

032609_0011

One of her favorite past times is looking around at what she can find floating in the stock tanks.  This girl is fascinated with water and looks like she’s found a very interesting piece of moss that fell out of our many oak trees.

032609_0045

And, an updated picture of our most recently born lambs.  This is Mud Ranch’s Winifred aka “Winny” and her two girls sired by Kenleigh’s Raider, Gwyneth & Joanne.  I named them both after my friend Glenna and I… Glenna get’s her named commonly messed up by other people and they call her Gwyneth… People call me Joanne on accident and both of those names drive Glenna and I crazy.  So, thus these little girls… They aren’t meant to be given bad names but more of a reminder of funny discussions between a girlfriend and I.

ford032609

And the very handsome Mud Ranch’s Ford is developing very nicely.  This picture taken today… His four horns are starting to stick out!  I love this guy’s look and am hoping to show him at the Black Sheep Gathering in June!

Have a nice Friday!

About mudranch

I live in the country, I love to take photos, I'm a shepherdess, I adore my husband and daughter, I walk in the will of Christ.

Posted on March 26, 2009, in Annie, Jacob Sheep, Me, Nature. Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. My hubby’s away until Sunday night, too. Inky lambed this morning; I just KNEW someone was going to go while he was gone! But thankfully, no worries; everything was quick and easy. I hope to see you at BSG; I think my three little gully lambs would make a great “Young Flock” entry — two girls and a boy!

  2. I can’t believe how quickly Annie is growing!

    You’ll be happy to know that Constance is now being loved by Mary Tonkin. I told her if she ever wanted to give her up you had first dibs. I imagine Mary will have her eating out of her hand in no time. 🙂

    I stayed at Shannon’s last weekend and she told me you were coming for BSG. Now I HAVE to go, I so want to meet you and your family.

  3. Annie is getting big and just as cute as she can be. What a great way to raise a child, on a farm, she is a lucky girl. Constance is well and not eating from my hand yet but she did nibble on grain from a bucket I was holding, won’t take long…

  4. I’m just starting to read your blog and am so intrigued by those sheep! I have to say I love the picture on your header too. Looking forward to reading more!

  5. Weather at 70° makes me so jealous. It was snowing here today and I’m frozen to the bone. What I would do for some real spring weather.

    That ten tons of hay looks awfully nice. Here it would be gone in little over a month. This time of year, it would have to be covered for sure….and up off the ground too or it would be a mess.

    Better be careful with Annie and those stock tanks. Next thing you know she’ll be diving into them. LOL

  6. Love your wonderful photos…. all my favorite things.

    Little Annie is a sweetheart, along with those adorable lambs. What a great life!

    That stack of hay has me stopped in my tracks. Looks great!

Leave a Reply

