Annie’s Got a Brand New Dress

030609_6894

I’m starting to really get pretty involved with this sewing thing… And really, it doesn’t match my “before-mom” personality at all.  I would rather do a lot of things than sew, or so I thought.  But I’ve always been intrigued with all the various fabrics and color combinations so always secretly wanted to quilt.  Then after becoming a mom it wasn’t so secret anymore, now it’s just an full blown new path of another hobby. 

030609_6893

I found this adorable fabric at Joanne’s a few weeks back when a friend (my new sewing mentor) took me in for my first experience in a fabric store.  I was looking for fabric to make a quilted tote bag but came across this and knew that my daughter, Annie, would love it.  She’s crazy about animals, and we’ve got all these except a goat… well and the chickens but her grandma has those.  So I was wondering out loud as to what I would do with this fabric and my friend Jeana mentioned making Annie a dress.   My eye lids immediately started twitching and I started feeling nervous, “A dress?!  Me?  No… I couldn’t…”  She said, “Awww, come on, it’s not that hard!”  This coming from someone who clothes her whole family including herself.

032209_7284

So I did, I made a dress for my daughter and grin every time she points at the cow and says, “Booooo!”  Yeah, she mixes up her M’s and B’s right now, but she’s only 20 months old so it’s probably legal still.

032209_7285

And she points at the horse and says, “Neigh neigh!”  And at the rooster and quacks like a duck from out the side of her cheek… So she’s confused on feathered friends… If it has feathers it quacks!

032209_7286

So I guess this mama is starting to clothe her family, though one at a time… I offered to make a shirt for Hubby but he quickly declined. 😉

About mudranch

I live in the country, I love to take photos, I'm a shepherdess, I adore my husband and daughter, I walk in the will of Christ.

Posted on March 22, 2009, in Annie, Family, Me. Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. That is so cool! I love the fabric and Annie’s smile says that she does too. I am very impressed 🙂

    What a party pooper Simon is.

  2. That is so stinkin adorable. Just the cutest thing.

  3. What a fashion princess, plus she has learned the value of “layering”

  4. Great dress–I like the ruffle on the bottom. I like your new banner on your blog too! Thanks for sharing the lamb pics. My girls love them!

Leave a Reply

