Fiber Fair Update

We just got back from our Fiber Fair outing with two of our “collar trained” girls, April & Kiara.  I was so busy with the people’s questions and running after Annie that I didn’t get any photos. 😦  It was pretty small, there is an old ranch house that the displays were set up in and actually we were stationed out on the lawn in front of the house with the girls on lead ropes grazing the grass.

Kenleighs Kiara

Kenleigh's Kiara

Most people were very interested in the sheep and their first question was, “What kind of goats are they?  Angora?”  To which we’d reply, “They’re Jacob SHEEP.”  Without yelling at them of course, just enunciated the “sheep” part of their name.  After that they were pretty impressed as most people have no idea that sheep have horns too, though I think they might be more apt to thing they were sheep if we brought two horned ewes instead of four horned.  We had quite a few ask questions about the wool to which I gave them the basics that they’re good for hand spinners and that, no, I don’t know how to use the wool just yet but am wanting to learn!  We also made sure to educate them on using the sheep for meat, which was our original interest.  Some of the people really perked up on that and others commented on how we eat such cute, gentle creatures.  We talked about how nice it is to know what is in your food, no hormones, no chemicals.  And how much easier on your digestive system the lamb is rather than beef.  We actually made a new customer who wants to buy locker lamb and another lady who is interested in our wool.

One little elderly Japanese lady was a wealth of information on taking the fleece from the raw state up through knitting sweaters and using a loom.  She was very proud of what she did and actually had a spinning wheel set up and a carding machine with a lot of samples of wool and different dyed products.  Her dying jobs were really works of art in and of themselves, gorgeous coloring!  I notice she was curious about the Jacobs but you can tell she is very comfortable with the wool she already uses and imports from Australia, Merino/Corriedale.  Her name is Kinko and the tags on the insides of her sweaters are “Ewe to You – Via Kinko.”  I thought that was really cute.

All in all we had a great time and it was a well received event in our little community.  I know that it will be going on next year as well and I hope that it grows bigger to where there are more exhibitionists showing up.  Hopefully I’ll be more knowledgable about my wool by then too. 😉  I know I’ll want to take raw fleece and maybe a pelt and some yarn to show that I’m not all washed up on the Jacobs being a good handspinning breed.

About mudranch

I live in the country, I love to take photos, I'm a shepherdess, I adore my husband and daughter, I walk in the will of Christ.

Posted on February 21, 2009, in Crafting, Jacob Sheep, Me. Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. Well, I am a total loser – I never got back to you in regards to the brochures! I am so sorry. It sounds like you had a great time!

  2. Hmmm, if you have a lot of “exhibitionists showing up,” the event may grow very fast, indeed. May not be the crowd you’re looking for, however, especially with little Annie running around! hee!

  3. Shannon – It’s okay! I asked at a late notice anyway so don’t worry about it. My business cards didn’t come in the mail before hand either… Oh well. 😉

    Michelle – It was actually geared toward children though a lot of adults were there. The lady who put it on wanted to show the kids where wool came from and she had neat craft things they could do with different fibers; including willow and hemp. It was interesting and the kids that attended (my nieces, nephews and friends went along too) had a great time! 😀

  4. ‘Em are some big doors, Girl! Who built those??

  5. Hubby built them… with help from me of course. 😉 Annie makes them look really big, especially when I put her in the bottom of the frame. They’re about 12′ though! So I guess they’re pretty big.

  6. Good for you! What a terrific learning experience, too.

    ~Lisa

Leave a Reply

