Dare to be Fabulous

020509_6286

It is a rainy day today and my Mom took Annie off my hands so that I could enjoy some time alone.  The day actually started out just drizzly and then in the late afternoon it started raining solid.  I am glad for the rain, though I was really enjoying the sunshine.  We need it desperately as we’ve not had the normal annual percentage here in a few years and the forests around here already like to burn during the summer, so we’d rather have some precipitation so as to maybe help out the land and fill up our lakes.

This early afternoon I worked with my Little Sure Shot, Annie Oakley.  I know… Too many “Annie’s” around here so I’ll refer the the equine variety as “Sure Shot” from now on.  She hadn’t been worked in a while now so was full of vinegar and had a few tricks up her sleeve.  I just wanted to get her listening to me so worked on some circles in the round pen (not too thrilled with the word ‘lunge’ so use circles) to get her to watch me and do as I ask.  I did have a few challenges as she didn’t want to change direction when asked a few times and then didn’t whoa on first ask but once our lesson was over, she did all very responsively.  She really is sharp.  I then remembered a little trick I had taught her, oh… two years ago now.  I climbed up on the panels of the pen and then bumped her halter right next to her cheek a few times, this cues her to move her hind-end over to line up with the panels so I can get on bareback.  She did it perfectly (I told you she was sharp) though I didn’t climb on.  I kind of have a feeling I’d look like that cowgirl up there on my card without a bit more work.  It is nice to have her do this maneuver so that if I’m ever out in the woods and need a lift, I can pull her up along a stump and climb on… She is only 14.1 hands so it’s not like she’s super tall… But I can’t jump.

Once our lesson was over I came inside and worked on this card.  I am sending it to a very special lady who has done me a big favor.  She’s a horse woman so I know will like the western motif, I know that’s all I ever want to create, though flowers are right up there on the list too.

After making the card I’ve been trying to de-clutter the entertainment center in my house.  It is built of oak and is also built in to the house by a local cabinet maker so it’s not like it’s moveable.  It was originally designed to house a 60 gallon salt water fish tank though, and now that the tank has moved on to greener pastures there’s a big hole in the center and I’m constantly trying to figure out what to do with it.  I’ve now moved my Jade plant and another plant in there with some larger photographs but I’m sure things will be moved around again… I’m one that’s never really satisfied with how things look in my house.  I sure wish I was smarter in this area.

Anyway, it was nice to have a day alone… Thanks mom!

About mudranch

I live in the country, I love to take photos, I'm a shepherdess, I adore my husband and daughter, I walk in the will of Christ.

Posted on February 5, 2009, in Crafting, Family, Horses, Kiger Mustangs, Me. Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. I train all my horses to stand quietly next to whatever I stand them next to so I can mount. Putting your weight in the stirrup to mount really makes the saddle torque on their back – OUCH! Wish I had your mom to babysit for me once in awhile….

  2. Sounds like you had a great day. Love the card.
    Scrappy

  3. Sounds like you have had a fab day, god bless mom’s.

    I absolutely love your card, how did you get that gorgeous patterned brown leather effect on your card! 🙂

  4. I love the card! It is wonderful to have a day alone every once in awhile 🙂

  5. Michelle – The cool thing about Annie’s trick is that she’ll swing her butt over to you, in case she’s facing the stump, she’ll side step over… It is a wonderful thing to teach your horses! 😀

    Thanks Donna for stopping by!

    Townie – The leathery affect is done on craft paper w/ chocolate chip ink and the background stamp is “Paisley” recently retired from SU!. I used a paper piercer to put holes in it to look like it was tooled. 😉 Thanks!

  6. Hey J!

    I am totally digging that card. That tooled leather effect just rocks! I’d love to learn how to do that. Amazing! Well done. Your freind is going to love it 🙂

    Good for you working with your horses. I miss that most of all being laid up.

    I’d really love to learn that training technique to move a horse’s rear end where you want it, so I could do this with my mare. I won’t be able to mount my horse from the left using a stirrup for at least a year, because of my left knee.
    If I could get Baby Doll to scoot next to the fence panel or horse trailer, so I could get on bareback that would be awesome!

    Would you mind sharing with me how you taught your horse to do that?
    E-mail privately if you like: Twinville2 @ yahoo dot com

    I’d be so thankful!

    By the way, I also stopped by to give you a little wooly goodie. Go visit my blog and pick it up. It’s perfect for you, my fellow sheep lover 🙂

    ~Lisa

  7. Nanna and Poppa love to have the “sainted” grandaughter. Nothing gets done except play with Annie. And that’s a good thing.

Leave a Reply

