I’ve been absent, but not idle

What can one person be doing away from their blog for about a week and a half?  Well a lot, and though I can’t think of everything to list here I do have some fun little tidbits to share with you. 

012809_6046

My first big accomplishment is sewing lessons on Wednesdays.  I made this bag last week and though you’re thinking, “Oh wow, all in one day!?”  I kinda cheated as it was a kit and the 5″ squares were cut out already.  I did have to cut out the interfacing, the lining and the handles though so it did take all day when that sort of kit would probably take a savvy sewer only a few hours.  It was fun though and I’m proud to say my teacher said that I caught on very quickly, she was surprised.

012809_6047

Here is the second bag that I started today.  All the 5″ squares are sewn together and though my teacher wasn’t there today (I do this in the midst of a bunch of ladies doing various things at the community church), I got through it fast and retained my lessons from last week.  I did chicken out when it came to ironing on the interfacing without her but it was okay to quit by then as Annie was definitely due for a nap.  Hopefully I’ll finish it next Wednesday.

012809_6147

Last Thursday I had a Stampin Up! workshop and created this little bookmark for my Bible.  It is made using a watermark type of stamp that is clear called Versamark then I dab on the pastels with sponges and spray with a clear sealer to keep the pastels from smudging.  Cute huh!?

012809_6054

Next we brought home my new sheep, well they aren’t exactly new to me as I got them last fall but they’re new to our property because they’ve been living at my mother-in-law’s house being bred to our ram Raider.  Raider is now back with the dudes in the Dude Pen here on Mud Ranch so now we have the Four Dudes Who Did instead of the Three. 

012809_6064

They have mingled a bit with my existent sheep but you can sure tell who they are by looking out in to the pasture… They aren’t real secure yet.  They do come up and say hi to me though and they come in the barn at night without a problem so I’m betting they’ll make new friends here real soon.  I am definitely figuring out my favorites though one of which is Kiara.  She’s beautiful!

012809_6148

Last, but certainly not least, I received a lovely little note from a happy customer!  I love receiving mail and when it was from Mary at Shadow Mountain Jacobs with a fleece sample from a ram lamb I sold her last spring, I was sure excited.  I certainly don’t know a whole lot about wool yet so was happy to see that she explained a few things to me and I was able to compare the fleeces.  Here’s a tidbit of what she had to say about it, “I am very pleased with his fleece quality.  The locks are open, with a nice even crimp and the color is also very nice.  The luster is also above average.  I had it micron tested and his average fiber width is 27 microns which is on the finer side.”  I have been trying to learn more and more about the Jacob’s wool as I’d like to start processing and using it in the future but am taking it one step at a time.

012809_6150

I opened the bag to take a good look at Packard’s fleece and was really happy with how soft it felt.  It really is lovely!  I’m hoping he passes it on to his lambs too, and am thankful to Mary for sending it out to me.  Don’t you just love the chocolate brown of that color?

That’s all for now, I hope you’re all doing well.

About mudranch

I live in the country, I love to take photos, I'm a shepherdess, I adore my husband and daughter, I walk in the will of Christ.

Posted on January 28, 2009, in Crafting, Jacob Sheep, Me. Bookmark the permalink. 9 Comments.

  1. Wow, what fun! Your bags and bookmark are beautiful. I find it so rewarding to be able to make things and learn new skills. Your new girls look happy and I can’t wait to see lambs from Raider. That was very nice of Mary to send you a fleece sample. The brown is such a rich color.

    On another note – Sahara’s lamb’s dad is Pilot.

  2. Good work. The patch purse is great. Nuzzling Muzzles has a second blog called Frazzle Frenzy ( http://frazzlefrenzy.blogspot.com/ ) that you might like.
    Your sheep are amazing.

  3. How cool! I want to learn how to quilt…I know how to sew, but haven’t taken that leap yet. Very interesting about the wool too. I don’t know much…other than i like to knit with it. We went to the PA Farm show a few weeks back and I was trying so hard to remember all the stuff about sheep that you talk about…I failed miserably. There were some there that did look similar to yours…but hard to tell. they had all just been shorn and were wearing little hooded jackets! very cute.

  4. Thank you for the link Molly! I went and checked it out, she’s a busy busy lady! Looks like a lot of fun. I think I’ll stick to these bags for now and maybe a baby’s quilt size… I tend to bite off more than I can chew and then don’t finish things, so hopefully I’ll ease myself in this time. 😀

    Thanks Shannon! It’s been fun… I love working with my hands and learning new skills too. 🙂

    Thanks Kate! It is a lot of fun, and really so easy. Start out with one of these bags and if you already know how to sew, it’ll be simple for you. There’s lots of free patterns online or you can get a kit from a fabric store too. That’s a nice way to go. And, if you saw sheep like mine, they were probably Jacobs. I don’t know of any other breed with horns and spots. 😉 Also, there are a few Jacob flocks that even I know about in PA, I’m sure someone w/ more knowledge on who’s breeding who would know about more. In fact, one of my ewes was imported from PA… One of the new ones I picked up this past Fall.

  5. You are certainly a woman of many talents! Thanks for sharing your projects with us 🙂

  6. shadowmountainjacobsfarm

    I love the fabrics you used on the second bag, it’s beautiful. I wish I could sew but I just wasn’t born with any sewing interest. I can’t sew a lick but I can crochet until the cows come home.
    Your sheep are very nice and you are getting quite a large flock. Glad you enjoyed the fleece sample I was hoping you would. Our lambs will start in two weeks but we won’t have very many this year. Keep your craft pictures coming, I like to see them.

  7. Ooooh! Excellent job on those bags! I love the colors and patterns and the size. I have a handmade bag fetish, I think. Etsy crafters have taken quite a bit of my cash. lol!

    That bookmak is really pretty, too.

    Oh and it must feel great to hear from folks who have bought your sheep and are happy with them.

    Terriic photos!

    ~Lisa

  8. Oooh! I love the bags! I actually just bought that red floral fabric a couple of weeks ago. Not sure what I’ll do with it yet, it was just too pretty to pass up!

  9. Come on over to pick up your award 🙂

Leave a Reply

