Champagne Bubbles

That’s the new name of our newest illegitimate… err… lamb.  She was born on December 30, 2008 to Mud Ranch’s Lily and a lucky papa, my best guess would be Mud Ranch’s Packard, and that’s okay because he’s handsome.  Though this little gal’s name is kinda fancy, it was the only thing I could come up with as a “New Year’s” name.  We’ll call her Bubbles for short.

010209_5893

She’s a lilac in color with very dainty, though very “bubbly” markings.  I think she’s pretty sweet looking.

010209_5894

Lily is pretty proud of her too… Oh, and this is the Lily that was named Easter Lily because she was born on Easter Sunday.  Funny all the holiday sheep around here.

010209_5895

So far, so good with this little lamb and though she is illegitimate, she is a joy to have in the pasture.  When life gives you lemons, you’re supposed to make lemonade right?

holly

Here’s an updated picture of Holly too.  I figured you’d want to see her and Nova but we’ll talk about him in a second.  The day that Bubbles was born, which was at about 1:00pm out in the pasture right before my eyes while I did dishes (I’m not a worrisome G-Ma), I was waiting on three families to show up each having 4 children.  Yeah, that’s right 12 kids all at once and then my other friend who also had 4 kids showed up on accident at the same time, so my numbers jumped to 16!  They all wanted to see the new lambs.  Cordelia and Nova were still locked in a stall, I wasn’t comfy with letting him out yet so I had Nell and Holly be the guinea pigs and come meet the crowd.  I got Nell into the aisle of the barn and closed the doors.  While I held Holly, Nell ran around and sniffed everybody while Holly got lots of love and kisses.  She seemed to eat it up!  I thought it was pretty funny how relaxed she sat in my arms just looking around at all the faces.  I hope she stays this way.

nova

Nova, however, was in the guarded stall with eyes peering over the walls watching him.  One little girl requested that she go in the stall to see him and of course was not allowed.  Being that Cordelia is an overprotective mom, I didn’t think it was a good idea.

nova2

He is a very pretty lamb and I love his markings.  Nova does have a “hitch in his get-along” though, so I am thinking he will be freezer meat by the time it’s all said and done.  I don’t know why he has a bum leg, (I believe it’s the left rear) but he did have it from birth and I thought maybe it was like that due to how he was “packaged” in the womb.  But, it hasn’t gone away so I’m thinking its permanent.  So, I will enjoy watching him for now and possibly keep his pelt when we’re all said and done.  It’s so splashy!  Just keeping it real here at Mud Ranch. 😉

About mudranch

I live in the country, I love to take photos, I'm a shepherdess, I adore my husband and daughter, I walk in the will of Christ.

Posted on January 2, 2009, in Jacob Sheep, New Arrival, News. Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. You’ve been busy. Well, your ram lambs were busy last July :-). Bubbles is a very pretty girl.

  2. A pretty name for a pretty girl! Poor Nova…he has very cute face markings. I love how you are keepin’ it real 😉

  3. Congrats on all the new arrivals. Whata busy place with all your little people visitors, too.

    Bubbles is a lovely little lamb 🙂
    Too bad about Nova. What sorts of things do yo do with the pelts?

    ~Lisa
    New Mexico

  4. Champagne Bubbles is perfect! She sure is a cutey! Sad about Nova….he’s so good looking as well.

Leave a Reply

