Saturday Night’s Surprise

The day had been pretty normal, snow started to fall in small dry flakes, it was accumulating and I was hoping for a bit more than we’d received.  Dusk turned to dark and normally I like to feed at dusk but as things were going, it just wasn’t happening for me.  I then realized that the sheep were baaa’ing outside my french doors, that was fairly unusual as they usually wait patiently for me to let them into the barn to them their evening grain.  It finally dawned on me that they weren’t being patient.  So with one holler out the door, “I’ll be there in a minute!”  I set out to get on my coat and gloves and get Annie suited up as well.  Off we went to let the girls in.

christmasdivider7

They all came running up and most had quit their baaa’ing except Nell.  She just wouldn’t shut her trap and I was wondering what on earth had caused her to become so upset.  So as I let them in, they ran to their stalls for their grain and Nell kept on yammering on and on.  When she ran past me I could see a gooey liquid hanging out from her nether regions so knew immediately that she was either aborting or about to give birth.  I went back to the house to get our truck so that Annie could atleast wait for me in her car seat listening to her favorite Veggie Tales CD, and to call my Hubby who was stressfully working still at his shop.

christmasdivider7

By the time I got back up to the barn, there was Nell…

122008_5617

…And her sweet, mostly dried, thoroughly cleaned (to a sheep’s standard), up and moving about, large, black and white spotted, ewe lamb.

122008_5618

Both Nell and baby are doing wonderfully, and are now bedded in deep straw in a stall of their own.

122008_5619

And being that Dub wasn’t put in with the ewes to breed until the 18th of September, and being that this girl is very large and strong,… well, no, we don’t know who the proud papa is, we do know that he wasn’t related to Nell (thank heaven) because she had a ewe lamb last year and so did her sister, and all ram lambs were by Dub who isn’t related to Nell… So, the only thing we know now is that her name is…

holly

Ironically, Holly’s aunt (Nell’s full sister but born different years) is named Lily for “Easter Lily” as she was born on Easter Sunday in 2006.  We’ve got a family of Holiday sheep!

 

About mudranch

I live in the country, I love to take photos, I'm a shepherdess, I adore my husband and daughter, I walk in the will of Christ.

Posted on December 22, 2008, in Jacob Sheep, New Arrival, News. Bookmark the permalink. 11 Comments.

  1. Congratulations to you all and proud mum Nell. What a lovely christmas surprise.

    Wishing you all a very merry christmas and a prosperous new year x x

  2. Awwww! What a cute Christmas surprise!! Glad everything went smoothly and she was a smart enough ewe to know she wanted to be inside the barn to have her baby instead of outside in the snow! Welcome little Holly!

  3. What a fun holiday surprise! Precious pictures…thanks for sharing.

  4. What a cuttie !!! Ewes are very smart and usually have their lambs in privacy if they can. She is adorable and now has a very fitting name. You have the first lamb that I know of, how exciting.

  5. Wow!!! That certainly is a surprise. Congratulations!!! Somebody was having fun without you knowing 😉 I have a Holly and she is one of my favorite girls – very friendly, without being obnoxious. Have fun with your Christmas lamb.

  6. Someone totally forgot to tell Grandpa!! So when I go to feed Sunday evening there was not supposed to be any baah in the barn, but there was. All the girls were not let in yet. What is that noise and where is it coming from? After checking the stalls , it was ovious; HOLLY had arrived. Had absolutely no clue.

  7. Lily says, Have a HOLLY Jolly Christmas! (get it??) how cool is that! a Christmas lamb…sounds like something straight out of a James Herriot book!

  8. Wow, that’s EARLY! Glad everything went well for your Christmas surprise!

  9. Gotta love those tough Jacobs. What a fun Christmas surprise!

  10. I am so envious! A lamb! Congratulations.

  11. Oh!!!! How exciting! Congrats on the birth of pretty little Holly!!!

    ~Lisa
    New Mexico

Leave a Reply

