Sixth Photo Tag

I’ve been roundabout tagged by The Crazy Sheep Lady over at Punkin’s Patch for the sixth photo tag.  The object of the game is to  go into your photo archives and pick your sixth file, and the sixth photo in that file and tell us about it.

ssboo

Mine happened to be a photo of my sss-very sss-special sss-cat named sss-Boo, (She talks with a lisp).  Boo is an indoor cat, she is a princess, she is solid black and loves the afternoon light filtering in through the windows.  This photo of her basking in the sunlight was taken back in 2006, according to my file folder. 

Boo came to live with Hubby and I in 2002.  I had a little male cat, one of two named Diesel (his brother was Petrol).  Diesel was very attached to me and I to him, he loved for me to carry him around the house and actually smiled at me lovingly.  He was a doll.  Diesel and Petrol moved to mine and Hubby’s house after we got married.  I had just started letting them outside on and off during the day but never at night time.  Hubby was leaving very early in the morning to go on a business trip and as he ran his luggage to the truck, he left the front door open and Diesel escaped.  I realized later that morning that he was no where to be found in the house and called Hubby on his cell to see if he had seen him that morning.  He said no and we left it at that.  Sometimes he and his brother would hide in the house in the strangest spots but being that we live in about 950 square feet, it shouldn’t be hard to find him.  Well, he was gone.  I then realized that Hubby probably left the door open and Diesel ran out… We have a lot of coyotes around here…

So I got another kitten from the pound a little later, his name was Sparky and he was  black and white mix.  I brought him home and quickly fell in love with him but, Sparky never grew.  He always stayed small and was obviously very un-healthy.  Sparky died not too much later and I was heart broken again.  I had just about given up on having a cat again, yeah, I had Petrol still but he was a Weirdo with a capital “W.”  Petrol actually moved back to my parent’s house and was much happier.  I longed for a feline friend though…  One evening I got a call from a lady I had house sat for before I had gotten married.  She said that she was out picking up litter along the highway with our local “De-Litter Bugs” group and they had found a mama cat, a brother and sister along the highway with a bag of cat food.  She had known that I loved black cats and as it turned out, these were all black.  She said that the mama and brother had found a home but she had brought home the sister and as it turns out, was allergic.  She wondered if I was interested.  I asked if the kitten was healthy, (I can’t live through another feline death).  She said, “Oh yes!  If she isn’t sleeping, she’s beating up our dogs!”  I knew that she sounded like the one for me.

Hubby and I drove down to her house and found the little black kitten fast asleep on the back of a chair.  She was beautiful and just a tiny little ink spot.  We brought her home and I vowed that she’d stay indoors with us and away from the coyotes.  We wound up naming her “Boo” after the character on Monsters Inc. and she quickly became the head chick in the household.  We would actually rough house with her much like a dog.  She was a blast!

Finally when Boo was about two, and we thought she’d never accept another cat into her life, we got Jack.  He was perfect for Boo, wouldn’t take no for an answer.  Though she’d hiss and hide, he’d persue her until she finally gave in, now they’re the best of buddies… Two house bound cats in 950 square feet.

ssjack

Who could resist that face!?

My tagging victims:

  1. Tracey at On the Shores of Carpenter Creek (yeah, I know you don’t like tags but this one fits your photo-self)
  2. Tammy at Wrensong Farm
  3. Shannon at Kenleigh Acres’ Life on the Farm
  4. Linda at Patchwork Fibers
About mudranch

I live in the country, I love to take photos, I'm a shepherdess, I adore my husband and daughter, I walk in the will of Christ.

Posted on December 20, 2008, in Tag, The Cats. Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Gorgeous cats!

    Subtle hints . . . . you can leave for Santa:

    HOLIDAY SHOPPING FOR HORSE LOVERS

    😎

  2. OMG. I just looked to see what pic it will be….some friends of mine will be showing up with shotguns……

  3. Oooh, goodie Tammy! It sounds much juicier than mine… I look forward to seeing your post! LOL

  4. Our solid black cat, Monkey, is the best cat in the whole world as well. thinks she is a dog…she is just filled with so much joy–everything is approached with her tail straight up in the air–she chases the dogs, they chase her back…she plays fetch…don’t know what I would do without her! Her “sister” Daisy, is a fat, pampered, delicate, sweet soul. We love them both.

    thank you for the wonderful Christmas card Joan! beautiful pics as always!

Leave a Reply

