A Christmas Questionnaire

I snagged this questionnaire from Lisa over at Laughing Orca Ranch as I thought it looked fun.  So, will you all participate?  Post it on your blog and then let me know so I can visit you, or answer in my comments!

1. Egg Nog or Hot Chocolate? 

Both!   Egg Nog – not spiked; Hot Cocoa – w/ lots of spices and real cocoa.

2. Does Santa wrap presents or just sit them under the tree?

Wrapped.

3. Colored lights on house/tree or white?

At my parent’s house we always did colored but I have white on my tree.  On the house, colored.

4. Do you hang mistletoe?

No.  The cats would eat it.

5. When do you put your decorations up?

About two weeks before Christmas day.

6. What is your favorite holiday dish (excluding dessert)?  Probably the garlic mashed potatoes and the prime rib from our home grown steer.

7. Favorite holiday memory as a child?

Probably making my parent’s get out of bed early.  And I didn’t laugh then but do now, that my mom always had to have hot tea while opening presents so we had to wait for the water to boil… That took FOREVER.  A watched pot never boils right?

8. When and how did you learn the truth about Santa? I don’t remember ever really “believing” in him.  My dad would always put something under the tree from Santa, but I always knew who it was.  I’m not too big into believing in Santa still, so I’m sure Annie will know the truth right away.  To me, Christmas is much more spiritual than Santa, though he is fun to think about.

9. Do you open a gift on Christmas Eve?

Yes, usually something small. 

10. How do you decorate your Christmas tree?

I have been given a lot of horsey ornaments over the years and some have come from around the world.  I would say that is my main theme but being that we celebrate at my parent’s house more than here, they have a lot of heirloom ornaments that are very important to me.  We’ll be decorating their tree tomorrow night so I plan on getting some pics.

11. Snow. Love it or dread it?

Last year it got pretty old as we had feet instead of inches.  But I do have to say I think it’s one of the most beautiful things about this earth as it makes everything almost “sinless” if you know what I mean.  A winter wonderland is one of my favorite things to see and we surely have that here right now… But!  I do have to say that the wet, sloppy snow is definitely a dread for me… I much rather prefer the fluffy dry stuff we are having now and had last year.

12. Can you ice skate?

That’d be a sight… No, I avoid having to try and kill myself.

13. Do you remember your favorite gift?

Probably my gray cowboy boots that I wanted so badly when I was about 10!

14. What is the most important thing about the holidays for you?

Making sure that Christ is in Christmas.

15. What are your favorite holiday desserts?

Homemade fudge, peppermint, and cookies!

16. What is your favorite holiday tradition?

Driving through town to see the lights.

17. What tops your Christmas tree?

Usually nothing at my parent’s house, they normally have about a 12′ tree.  At my house, our little four footer is topped by a bow I made.

18. Which do you prefer: giving or receiving?

I love receiving, but I get the most joy out of finding the right present for someone.  I am a really good elf and always do the shopping for my father-in-law. 😀

19. What is your favorite Christmas song?

“Oh Holy Night.”

20. Candy Canes. Yum or Yuck?

Yum yum yum yum yum!  Now you know I’m a peppermint addict.

22. Do you attend an annual Christmas party? 

No, though I used to when I was on the fire department. 

23. Do you dress up for Christmas Eve or wear jammies?

Have you read my profile?  I don’t dress up.

24. Do you own a Santa hat?

Only one that fits my equine friends.
25. Who do you normally spend Christmas with?

My parent’s, his parent’s, and this year, both his sisters and their kids.  Sometimes the neighbors will pop in too.

26. What are your least favorite things about Christmas? 

Being reminded about Christmas in the stores, as early as Halloween and skipping over Thanksgiving.

About mudranch

I live in the country, I love to take photos, I'm a shepherdess, I adore my husband and daughter, I walk in the will of Christ.

Posted on December 18, 2008, in Me, Tag, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. A Christmas Questionnaire

    I have my Answers on my blog
    http://dixiesmustangs.wordpress.com

    Was going to put them hear for you but that was a lot
    of typing.

    Dixie 🙂

  2. Great questions—-
    1.Egg Nog (organic with whole milk)but my Husband makes a mean Hot Cocoa
    2.Santa wraps presents or uses gift bags.
    3.Colored lights for sure and lots of them.
    4.I have hung mistletoe in the past but haven’t for awhile.
    5.My Husband puts them up right after Thanksgiving.
    6.Holiday dish hum!!! Prime rib or Sweet Potatoe prailine with carmalized pecans on top.
    7.Favorite memory is trying to fall asleep on Christmas Eve and waking up on Christmas Day.
    8.I don’t remember (I’m old)
    9.Yes, three generations of opening up one gift on Christmas Eve. My oldest son comes over to continue the tradition with us.
    10.We have Christmas ornaments from my Grandparents,Parents, ones that I have made and ones that my children have made. All hand made family treasures.
    11.Love it, I just don’t like how some people drive in the snow.
    12. Heck no, I would break bones.
    13.A diamond band from my oldest son. It means a lot to me.
    14.God and Family
    15.Chocolate Mousse Cake. It is sinfull and ease. If anyone wants the recipe just let me know, I love to share recipies.
    16.The bridge lighting cerimony near our house.
    17.An angel that my late mother gave to me.
    18.Both, but when you have childrem giving means more to me.
    19.Mary did you know. Cathy Mattea’s version is my favorite but Clay Aiken is a close runner up. This song moves me deeply and I can’t listen to it without tearing up.
    20.Yum,Yum,Yum all year long.
    21.There was no question for 21.
    22.No, I’m just not into parties.
    23.We are very casual and don’t dress up.
    24.No, I wear a Christmas tree pin that was my Mothers when she was a girl.
    25.I always have a large dinner at my house and my entire family comes over and usually some others show up too.
    26. The crowds.

  3. I enjoyed getting to know you! Thanks for sharing!

    Linda
    http://coloradofarmlife.wordpress.com

  4. Fine questionnaire! Love reading your answers. I will participate and try to get it posted it on my blog in the next day or so!

  5. Oh goodness, this is a long questionnaire! I think I’ll answer it here, since I have blog posts planned. (Cookie recipes have been requested.)

    1. If I have to choose between the two, hot cocoa (your way with lots of spices and real cocoa sounds deeLISH!); adding a scant teaspoon of instant decaf makes a good, cheap mocha!

    2. If he really brought them, I think they would be wrapped.

    3. White, definitely; icicles on the house, little ones on the tree.

    4. No. It grows in the trees around here.

    5. Usually the weekend after Thanksgiving.

    6. I’ll go with garlic mashed potatoes — and a gourmet green salad with fruit, nuts and cheeses in it.

    7. My step-brother and I getting up EARLY Christmas morning to open our stockings. They were clever, my parents; we opened presents Christmas eve (many of them were utilitarian), and then Mom and Dad slept in Christmas morning after filling our stockings with fun little things after we fell asleep the night before.

    8. I knew the truth as long as I can remember.

    9. Not usually; my husband is a spoil-sport. We have to do it HIS family’s way, all together Christmas morning in orderly fashion. MY family’s way (see #7) was much more fun.

    10. Assorted and eclectic — but NO tinsel.

    11. Everything in moderation.

    12. I learned to stay upright when we lived in Minnesota; still have the ice skates.

    13. No.

    14. The real Gift.

    15. Homemade fudge and cookies.

    16. We don’t really have any.

    17. A glass spire.

    18. Giving.

    19. Mary Did You Know?

    20. Yum yum yum yu.

    22. Several.

    23. Jammies.

    24. No.

    25. Rick — and now Brian.

    26. Not being able to be with all my family.

Leave a Reply

