The Trinity River

trinityriver-winter

The other day when we went out Christmas tree hunting we were driving back into town and crossed “the new bridge,” (as opposed to the old bridge which was built in 1901) and I noticed a golden eagle  perched on a rock in the middle hunting for his lunch.  It was odd to see this large brown bird pretending to be a heron so I swung around to take a picture of him.  By the time I got myself back on to “the new bridge” he was up in an alder tree a ways down the river and was pretty much out of camera shot and definitely not as picturesque.  So as I wandered back to the opposite side of the bridge, I looked down to the river flowing down beneath me and thought it was a pretty picture, and thus you have the above photo. 

The Trinity River which winds it’s way through town is home to a lot of gung-ho “fisher-dudes,” that I like to call them.  You know the kind, they all look the same in their khaki, sage, and pale blue clothes, the bills on their hats are a bit longer than normal and they’ve got fishing vests plastered in just the right flies to use for the end of their lines.  Most of them come up here from the Bay Area and are quite noticeable in their bright shiny cars and their “Catch and Release Wild…” fill in the blank.  It’s a funny group of people, especially compared to the little town they’re visiting.  But, we do appreciate their money being spent locally. 😉

About mudranch

I live in the country, I love to take photos, I'm a shepherdess, I adore my husband and daughter, I walk in the will of Christ.

Posted on December 16, 2008, in Nature, Nature Photography, Photography. Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. Wow, that is a beautiful picture! I like the border too, especially how the picture pokes through in a few places.

  2. Beautiful picture. Did you do this one in photoshop also? It looks like an oil painting. And as I was admiring it the snow began to fall in the picture which made it really cool. You are so creative…….

  3. Thank you both! 😀

    I did use Photoshop in this one but didn’t use any filters such as oil painting etc… I did boost the contrast and upped the saturation of the colors a touch, then sharpened and used “gaussian blur” to give it that soft glow. 🙂

  4. Gorgeous river! My sig. other spent a lot of his childhood on the Trinity. I may have to go check it out this coming June as we’re going to a family reunion of his in Grass Valley.

  5. Another lovely photo. And I like the frame, too. I aso enjoyed learning a bit of info about your Trinity river.
    What a lovely place you call home.

    ~Lisa
    New Mexico

Leave a Reply

