Highlights of a Horse

121108_5419

Some of my most favorite photos to take, especially of horses, are little details.  Sometimes they’re details we miss in our day to day activity.  Flowers are another fun subject.  But today I had some alone time, without the baby so that means if I’m short on over all time, they kids get groomed.  And of course that means that the camera is present.

121108_5437

The crisp afternoon light is especially becoming on detail shots and you’ll soon see why.  It is marvelous for those details that need brightening such as the glistening hair.

121108_5457

Or the ever popular eye shots.  This one was taken in the sun which isn’t all that super-duper but it is fun nonetheless.

121108_5460

Eye shots are very over-used, every one thinks they’ve captured the awesome eye shot until you see someone who’s really captured it with just the right color and lighting.  I saw that photo once, the horse was black, the sky shone a dark blue and the eye glowed a bright amber.  It was a pheonominal shot taken by a member of the Equine Photographers Network and I can’t remember who anymore.

web-121108_5425

Today I captured MY best, it doesn’t measure up to the image in my head but I think there’s some interest here.  I like the shadows, the highlights and the little bit of mystery.

121108_5462

Cali’s legs… Weird mountain women don’t shave their legs in the winter. 😉

121108_5465

121108_5463

Sunnie’s hair- it’s thick, everywhere, unruly, and his little wannabe star is pretty cute too.

121108_5512

“Who me!”  – The results of my lying on the ground waving my leg around in the air.

121108_5459

A new found talent, Sunnie can do fish lips… with help.

121108_5475

Cali’s glowing coat – a result of all natural living.

121108_5490

…And a self portrait.

About mudranch

I live in the country, I love to take photos, I'm a shepherdess, I adore my husband and daughter, I walk in the will of Christ.

Posted on December 11, 2008, in Horse Photography, Horses, Kiger Mustangs. Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Wow, all of these photos are phenominal! My favorite has to be the self portrait and the fish lips. One because it’s cute…and the other because it’s so striking…and something that can be missed if you don’t look closely.

    Excellent as usual. I’m glad to see you posting some more of your photos. I always enjoy seeing them. I’ve not taken any photos for a while and the ones I’ve taken have no joy, because I miss my camera that had been stolen in October. 😦

    ~Lisa
    New Mexico

  2. Love the variation in shots/angles….love the eyes….and especially the fish lips! 🙂

  3. I love the self portrait…I have been passing your photos around among my friends…everyone is wowed…keep it up!

Leave a Reply

