Saddle Donations Please

I’ve been riding in hand-me-down saddles mostly my whole life.  I’m definitely not complaining though, they are very good quality.  The first is my mom’s Syd Hill & Sons Aussie saddle.  It is very nice, she had it built for herself and her morgan/mustang mare.  I love riding an Aussie saddle, they keep your tush in the seat in spooks, bucks, spins and bolts, and they’re excellent for boonie whompin’ as my friend and I call it. 

The second saddle is my dad’s large, heavy, square skirted western by Tex Tan.  It is a really nice saddle, has seen me through many years and fit many of my horses.  It is a semi-quarter tree which seems pretty universal but not anymore.  My mare Cali has just refused to carry it and I think it’s pinching her shoulders.  So… A girl can dream right?  I can hope, wish and pray for my own custom saddle from a saddle maker right?  I’ll take most any of his saddles, they are high quality, locally made, gorgeous, well thought out, and kinda spiritual. 

I once had the money to buy one of these saddles and sure enough, it flew out the window.  With a barn being built, it most likely went to lumber and tin roofing.  Then I saved in cash another $1,200.  I was well on my way, but little by little it was raided (not by me either, and I’m not mentioning names) and most likely again… for the barn.  Okay, so yeah, the barn is for my horses and sheep… but, but, but.

Oh how I want one of these puppies!  Visit J.J. Maxwell Tack & Saddle Co. for full explanation but beware, you may fall in love with them too!

This pretty girl wants me to get one too… Donations are very readily accepted and humbly appreciated. 😉

About mudranch

I live in the country, I love to take photos, I'm a shepherdess, I adore my husband and daughter, I walk in the will of Christ.

Posted on September 7, 2008, in Family, Horses, Kiger Mustangs, Me. Bookmark the permalink. 11 Comments.

  1. Well, when you get one of those saddles donated to you, would you mind handing down the semi qh tree to me? Because my girl and boy both have narrow shoulders which has been making the full bars a real challenge!

  2. Hey Tracey, let’s just swap! I cannot for the life of me remember what the brand name is… Thus the space. It is such a well known name… I’m gonna have to just march out there and take a look, it’s driving me crazy! When I do remember, or go look, I’ll fill in the blank. LOL

  3. Okay, duh on me, TEX TAN! 😀

  4. LOL, On the donations! Very nice lookin’ saddles , though! I’ll stay away from that site as I’m always looking for that perfect saddle!

  5. I checked out that link. Those saddles are gorgeous. I’ll have to save my pennies too. Thanks for sharing the link.

  6. Beautiful saddles 🙂

    Hope you get the one that makes you squeal with happiness, so you can go boonie whompin’ to your heart’s content 🙂

    ~Lisa
    Laughing Orca Ranch
    New Mexico

  7. Wow! at very first glance……………..stunning and delightful!
    I can’t decide if I should add you to my photo blog or country living blog:)

  8. Hi Joan,
    I just rode mine for the first time and it was wonderful for a western saddle. I’ve gotten used to a dressage saddle though and I miss the feel I get with it. Any interest in buying my Maxwell saddle? Email me and let me know.
    Dianne

  9. I’ll be back the 13th and will talk to you then.

  10. Hi! I was surfing and found your blog post… nice! I love your blog. 🙂 Cheers! Sandra. R.

  11. SGT Branden Nethken

    My name is SGT Branden Nethken and I am a Soldier on Fort Carson. My higher chain of command has decided that they would like to start a Mounted Horse Platoon which would be used for a few ceremonies but mostly for trail riding. Our unit has a rich tradition with trail riding and they would like to bring back that history. I grew up raising horses here in Colorado so they requested that I head this program. We are trying to start this program with only donations and I am curious if you had any horses, western wear, saddles, tack or any kind of supplies that you would be willing to donate to the Army, including money donations if willing. My new primary job in the army would now be the daily care of these horses, there will be approximately 8 Soldiers assigned to this program with me. I would be more than willing to send you proof that this request is not a scam. I am personally attempting to start this unique program as a donation only program. The reason behind this is because the horses that we will be taking in as our own are rescued horses from the state of Colorado that have been maltreated and need a good home. Thank you for your time. If you could please respond that would be greatly appreciated, even if you are unable to assist us with our needs.

    Very Respectfully,
    Branden R. Nethken
    SGT/USA

Leave a Reply

