2008 Lipizzaner Stallion Performance

*Start symphony music*

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

*Loud Applause*

*Dust starts to settle, waiting in anticipation for airs above the ground*

*Symphony Music*

*Loud Applause*

 

*Loud Applause!*

*Loud Applause!*  This lady was good, she was the head rider and had a smile on her face the whole time.  I like to see that – she was having fun.

These guys are really branded.  They have an “L” on their cheek for… Yep, Lipizzaner.  Then the “M” on this guy stood for his Sire’s family name, Maestoso.  The arrow is a symbol for his Dam’s family name.  Each Lipizzaner stallion’s first name is his dam’s name, and his second name is his sire’s name.  That’s why a lot of the stallion’s have feminine names.

This brand means he’s the real deal, from Austria.  Any horse foaled out of country does not have this brand.

*Start Spanish Guitar Music*

Enters the Andalusian Stallion who performed all the same maneuvers as the Lipizzaners except he did the Spanish Walk (never could get a photo of it).

 

And he bowed quite a lot at the end.  This guy had a lot of pizazz and fire.

*Start Symphony Music Again*

 

 

 

 

 

The Grand Exit.

The dust is settling, the crowd gathers their things.

The riders put away their things and ready their mounts for sleep in their fresh stalls.

The wardrobe is closed, we walk away slowly… Looking over our shoulders.

Another fun night stored away in our memory.

About mudranch

I live in the country, I love to take photos, I'm a shepherdess, I adore my husband and daughter, I walk in the will of Christ.

Posted on September 6, 2008, in Family, Horses, Me. Bookmark the permalink. 10 Comments.

  1. Don’t you just love that there are so many women riders now? Used to be all men….not sure if there was even a rule about that originally (well, seeing as they are “war moves” probably so). Thanks for sharing the wonderful photos, almost as good as being there!

  2. Tammy – The one I went to in ’06 only had a couple of women… This year they were all women. I think I’d like to see all men, in keeping with tradition (atleast if I ever go to Vienna) but I think they cannot keep men in as there are so many women riders in the dressage arena now. I know there’s men too, but maybe they’re not as interested in the Lipizzaners? You could tell that the women were really enjoying themselves! 🙂

  3. It sure seems that not as many men have the interest in riding, let alone the dressage arena. Of course, it could be too that there are so many girls out there that dreamed of riding the White Lipizzaners that they grew up into women that pursued it. The difference with the women and men riders too is the men never smiled that I remember.
    To be completely traditional I agree I would want to see all men riders (with serious faces). 🙂

  4. Wow! Thanks so much for sharing such a wonderful evening. I was really surprised at the women riders–for some reason, I thought they were all male.

    One thing’s for certain–looking at the riders’ faces, it’s obvious they are “living the dream”!

  5. wow. those pics brought back memories! I remember going to see them when I was a kid! how beautiful!

  6. Oh…oh…oh! Just seeing these wonderful photos of the beautiful Lippazaners and their flashy riders….with huge happy faces….just filled with me so much joy!!
    I was expecting to see serious faces…not smiles. The thrilled smiles were what I would have been doing had I been on one of those regal looking horse’s backs!

    I wonder how long their manes were. That one horse with all the ‘rasta’ braids looked to have quite an impressively long mane.

    Oh and I read with so much interest in the brands and what they all mean. Mud Ranch, how did you know all that…and how were you able to get such cool close-ups, without saddles in the way?
    Thanks for sharing all of the fascinating information, gorgeous photos and your exciting evening out with the Lippazaners! 🙂

    ~Lisa

  7. So glad you enjoyed the pics Lisa! I was shooting with you in mind. 😉

    I knew the information on the stallion’s brands from the show before in ’06 and they repeated the same stuff again in ’08. Those sort of details fascinate me and really sink in to this hard head of mine. I eat up details, especially on things that interest me. 😀

    The close-ups were taken with my telephoto lens. I just had in my head what kind of shot I wanted and waited… waited… waited until the right one passed right in front of me. That’s one thing you learn in photography is timing and planning for the right shot, though sometimes you’re pleasantly surprised with one that wasn’t planned. 🙂

    Thanks for the compliments!

    Yes! I agree with you all, the women smiling was really nice to see. I would be so giddy I doubt I could ride! LOL

    Thanks for stopping and commenting. I love hearing from you all.

  8. That was good inspiration; now if I can just fit riding back into my schedule! After being gone for six days, then starting homeschool, my riding partner is being sorely neglected. He’s ready to go back to work as soon as I get him legged up; maybe we’ll be back in the show ring next season!

  9. If you love these horses, you must check out the Spanish Riding school when you next go to Vienna. Fascinating to watch them perform and you can even watch practice sessions too…

    http://www.free-city-guides.com/vienna/riding-school/

Leave a Reply

