Tonight, Lippizzaner Stallions

That’s what is on my agenda.  We are leaving at 4:00 p.m., my parents, my mother-in-law, Annie and I to head down to the Big City.  We have to travel another hour south of the Big City to see the gray steeds but this time it will be in a real horse arena, indoors with good lighting.

I saw them perform for the first time at a showing around my birthday in 2006.  The lighting was great, while it lasted, but after the sun went down it was just a couple of flourescents shining from the grandstands.  The bummer about it was that the dressage arena was set up in a lawn area inside of a race car track.  We had, just below where I could shoot from, a tall chain link fence obstructing the view of the lower ten rows of seats in the grandstands.  Not exactly something that gives that heir of royalty as you watch the dancing stallions.

The other bummer was all the banners that made such a lovely background, nothing like I would invision Vienna with the gold leaf patterns on the walls and velvet covered chairs.  But they were a feast for the eyes, atleast for this Lippizzaner crazed girl. 

One of my biggest dreams for as long as I can remember is to visit the Spanish Riding School in Vienna, Austria.  I would love to go for a tour through their stalls, sit in a chair up in some balcony watching the stallions perform.

The way they move, with subtle cues is astounding.  Their rhythm, their grace, their beauty, it is something to behold.  I will see them again tonight, and will envision my balcony in Europe.

About mudranch

I live in the country, I love to take photos, I'm a shepherdess, I adore my husband and daughter, I walk in the will of Christ.

Posted on August 28, 2008, in Family, Horses, Me. Bookmark the permalink. 9 Comments.

  1. The Lippizaners are one of my favorites as well! I have seen them a couple of times here in the US. Was in Vienna as a student ambassador to Europe when I was 13. I was SO excited to see the Lippizans on their home turf! Showed up at the Riding School only to see a sign that said they were touring in the US! 😦 Was there again May 2007, but the timing wasn’t good, I guess I’ll just have to go back again!:) Enjoy the show!!

  2. Oh! I had chills reading your post because you share one of my dreams, as well. The Lipizzanners are just magical…as close to unicorns as one can get.
    I’ve wanted to see them perform for at least 16 years now. I hope they come back to the Albuquerque area one day soon.

    But what a dream to actually watch them perform in Austria, as the royalty they truly are!

    Oh I cannot wait until you post about your experience from tonight! 🙂
    ~Lisa

  3. Oh, I love the Lipizzaner stallions!! I haven’t seem them in ages…I am now inspired to find when they’ll be in my state soon!

    Personally, I’ve always liked the black or odd-colored stallions better than the greys…I always felt that they were looked upon as undesirable or the ugly ducklings, and I think of them as rare and exotic! I’m surprised I don’t have a farm full of undesirable horses…roman noses…rat tails…mule ears…etc.

  4. I had a friend who toured Europe for a summer and he went to a lunch-time practice at the school, much cheaper he said. I remember seeing them as a 4th grader, at a little girl’s birthday party, at our State Fair Grounds. Weird, huh? Hope you had a wonderful time.

  5. Gorgeous! I have never seen them, but would love to. Have you ever watched the Cavalia (horse show)? I think that is how you spell it. My aunt has seen it and has the video, we watched it at a family gathering. Pretty amazing!

  6. Beautiful photos of some beautiful horses. There is a place , oh about 30 miles from me, just in northern Illinois near Gurnee that has had the Lippizans since the beginning of time and they do shows on the weekends. It’s still there and I remember it as a kid. Apparently very well known. I should go and check it out sometime!

  7. Saddle Mtn Rider

    I love the stallions, also. And who can forget the Disney film showing the stallions being saved by Robert Taylor (sic) in WWII? I have seen the royal show once, but then a show called “World of Horses” two or three times and have always been struck at how magnificent they are.

  8. I live in Florida near where the stallions are wintered. There is a ranch with stables, training fields and a viewing stand. The ranch is open to visitors and you can watch the training sessions, also tour the stables. This is from Oct. throught March. I just read in the paper that the ranch is in financial trouble and may have to sell part of the land to get back on track.

  9. Beautiful horses. I love those Andalusians. My friend has a Luso stallion that she imported from Portugal. He’s a dream to ride :o)

Leave a Reply

