New Ladies

We’ve been super busy lately, Hubby is franticly getting ready for a trade show which has him up at about 2:00 a.m. and home at around 6:00 p.m. every night.  Crazy hours I know, but that’s what happens when you own your own company and are working hard to promote it.  So, I’ve been working on brochures for him which are turning out quite nice if I do say so myself!  Blogging has been set aside for a little while though I’m trying to turn out an article atleast once a week.  Oh, and another bit of news, my birthday was last friday the 15th, today I discover a gray hair.  Yep, my baby being one already has just given me my first.  Or, maybe it’s the sympathy stress for Hubby?  Who knows, but I know I won’t dye my hair!

Anyway, on to more important subjects.  While at the JSBA‘s annual general meeting or AGM, we picked up two new ewes from our favorite Jacob friend and mentor, Shannon.  I now introduce to you Kenleigh’s Lilly and Sagebrush Lura (Laura).

This is Kenleigh’s Lilly, we have another Lily but it’s with one “L” instead of two.  This Lilly is worming her way in to my heart.  She has a calm about her that’s pretty neat to see.  She’s definitely not bashful, will follow me around the pasture while I take photos and pose for me.

I’m a sucker for posing sheep.  I especially love the striped hooves she has in the top picture.  It’s almost as if she’s had a pedicure and is proud of the new polish.  Lilly has a bit of quiet grace to her that is very attractive.  I love her horn set (two horned ewes are my favorite if you haven’t noticed), and her body build.  She is registered in the JSBA as FF for Foundation Flock because we aren’t too sure of her breeding.  Shannon acquired her and her dam from a lady who wasn’t sure what Lilly’s sire’s name was but was pretty sure he was from the “Puddleduck” flock.  For those of you who don’t know, the JSBA has a really neat way of cataloguing who is who.  If a lamb is born at Mud Ranch, the prefix of Mud Ranch will eternally be attached to the lamb’s name.  This way you always know where it originated.  If you were to breed Kiger Mustangs for instance, the person who bought the horse could change the horse’s name so that you’d never know if you were the one who bred the horse or not.  I love the JSBA’s system.

This is Sagebrush Lura (See the prefix?  That means she came from the Sagebrush flock).  She has the largest pedigree in my ewe flock, you can see it here.  She is an interesting ewe, though I’m happy to have her, that’s for sure!  She has nice horns, a beautiful coloring, and the most amazing eyes I’ve seen in a grown ewe. 

They’re yellow but with a strip of blue around each pupil.  In the light, they glow and it is quite stunning.  Shannon tells me that she’s thrown blue eyed lambs and I’m hoping she will keep up the tradition as I love blue eyed sheep!  Lura has not been shy around here either and has actually pretty much intimidated my whole flock.  Even Sophia steps out of her way!  I don’t mind so much though, as everybody seems to get along during the day okay.  They just seem to give her a wide birth.

So now you’ve met them.  I’m looking foward to seeing what they produce for me next spring!

PS: I’m in the process of building a website for these sheep here.

About mudranch

I live in the country, I love to take photos, I'm a shepherdess, I adore my husband and daughter, I walk in the will of Christ.

Posted on August 19, 2008, in Family, Jacob Sheep, Me. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Rachelle Hobbs

    The new additions are good looking ladies! Can’t wait to see all of the blue eyed babies you will have next spring.

    Don’t worry about the gray! Dan is only 27 and already has a head full!!

    Hope you are feeeling better! 🙂

  2. Yea, You did a great job on your sheep site. It’s wonderful to see all your sheep and I’ll be looking for their pedigrees when they are added. GREAT JOB , I have already book marked it and will be looking often. You’re big timing it now 🙂

Leave a Reply

