The Boys

Our guys, Dudley and Dub are and have been our flock sires.  This pic was taken after they were just freshly shorn about a month ago.  Dudley is the one with the curly horns on the left, he has blue eyes and has passed that gene on to a few of our girls which is what I was originally hoping for.  He is a strange ram though, with a strange set of horns and a strange personality to go along with it.  We have kept a lot of his daughters for breeding ewes and now have a couple years worth of his get to keep and breed to their new love, Dub.  Dub is the handsome lilac dude on the left (lilac is the more brown color where Dudley is very black and white).  Dub’s horns are great, I’m not going to say perfect because that simply doesn’t exist in the world, but we really like them and I can’t be picky (I’m not anyway, why do you think I started out with a curly-Q for a flock sire?)  But Dub has a nice gentle attitude and never seems to get upset.  He’s also thrown some nice lilacs so we’re planning on keeping him around a while.  If he stays real nice, he may have a fairly permanent home which can be kinda rare for a ram.

Dudley, however, has worn out his welcome.  Not only being related to over half of our flock now, he’s certainly getting more and more destructive in his older age.  He bashes gates, fencing, trees and any inadimant object that he thinks needs a lickin.’  We actually think he may have some brain damage because one of our mares drop kicked him and he flew about three feet off the ground and about six feet from her hind legs where he first was.  It was quite a sight and I’m glad I saw it so that I knew there was a reason for his strange behavior.  He definitely deserved the kick he got and I wasn’t really heart broken, just glad he didn’t break his neck.

Photo courtesy Kenleigh Acres

We are leaving for central California this weekend to attend the Jacob Sheep Breeder Association’s “AGM” or Annual General Meeting where we will be picking the above guy up.  That is Raider and he will be replacing Dudley as a new flock sire.  He is very handsome and we’re excited to bring him home and have him meet his new girlfriends who are all waiting in anticipation.  All of Dub’s girls that we’ve kept will be put in with him as well as a few of Dudley’s.  We’re also going to be bringing home a couple new ewes to add and are just fine tuning our little Jacob flock.  I’m having fun and the liberty of raising sheep is that if you can’t find them a home, there’s always a home in the freezer.

About mudranch

I live in the country, I love to take photos, I'm a shepherdess, I adore my husband and daughter, I walk in the will of Christ.

Posted on August 5, 2008, in Jacob Sheep. Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. Those are some serious horns!

  2. I think your Violet will like Raider. He has a nice strong set of laterals and great markings. What’s in store for Dudley? I wish I was able to go to the A.G.M. this year, I would like to meet you, and who knows when it will be back to the West Coast. Have a great time and enjoy. Please take lots of pictures so you can share with us. Please, Please, Please………

  3. Hi there,

    Sorry to be a bit off topic here, but I run a blog (completely and entirely non-commercial) called http://www.farmblogs.blogspot.com

    At Farm Blogs I am trying to gather in one place the very best of global blogging about farms, farming and rural life.

    You can find the blog roll, sorted by country (and a General Interest section).

    My posts are made up of the blog recommendations from farm bloggers and I also post regular stories about world farming.

    All blogs have been recommended to me by other bloggers or identified by me during my occassional browsing.

    You were recommended by Raising Country Kids http://farmblogs.blogspot.com/2008/08/raising-country-kids-recommends.html

    (If you’d just like to see recommendations please use the label ‘Recommendations’.)

    I have a pretty broad definition of farming – if you’re producing food, you’re a farmer, to my mind at least.

    So blogs range from ranches to part-time smallholders, and resources for them.

    Once recommended, I add them to the blogroll and then contact the bloggers (just as I am contacting you), asking them to send me a few words about their farm/small-holding and their blog and, critically, to recommend their favourite farm/farming blogs (just as Raising Country Kids recommended you).

    And so it goes and grows.

    So, I’ve added you to my blog roll and I would very much appreciate it if you could please consider:

    a) writing to me with a brief description of your blog along with permission for a once off only use of a couple of photos from your blog, so that I can make a posting about you;

    b) writing to me with your favourite farming/rural blogs recommendations;

    c) add a link on your blog, if that’s possible, to http://www.farmblogs.blogspot.com

    d) please feel free to send me the odd photo, both now and on an on-going basis. The blog tries to pick up different seasonal activities in different parts of the world at different times, so any photos would be much appreciated – they also help drive traffic to your site.

    Very much hoping to hear from you,

    With kind regards,

    Ian

    http://www.farmblogs.blogspot.com
    http://www.aplaceintheauvergne.blogspot.com
    http://www.ianwalthew.com

    P.S Does the name Joe Henson mean anything to you? He started up The Rare Breeds Survival Trust in the Cotswolds, England in the 1970s. Well worth checking out.

  4. Rachelle Hobbs

    What a handsome bunch of boys! Have a great time at the meeting! 🙂

  5. Raider is gorgeous!!! He will be a fine addition to your flock, for sure.

    Do you enjoy sheep meat? I’ve had lamb, but never adult sheep before. I wonder what it takes like….

    Dudley’s horns are a raging rollercoaster! whoheee! Do you have to cut the horns if they get to close to the head or face?

    Dub’s got a nice set of horns. I like how they ‘spring’ forward. He has great presence! 🙂

    Have fun at the Jacob show and meeting.

Leave a Reply

