Violet

Hi, my name is Violet.  I’m the favorite in this here pasture and just wanted to introduce myself.  You see, I hold a pretty high position in my flock and a position almost to royalty with my shepherdess because I am so sweet to her.

See, when no one else comes to the fence because they’re all too “scared,” I march right up and expect to be scratched.  I even let my shepherdess touch me all over my face and even scratch my chest and back.  I like her a lot.

In fact, I’m so tolerant I even accept kisses from my shepherdess’ kookie canine named Abby.

She’s just a large over-grown puppy who doesn’t know how to control her feet and body too well yet.  The gal is just too big for her brain right now, though I admit, I am very happy to see her when she’s out patrolling the pasture.  I know the coyotes will stay away.  My shepherdess made a smart move when she bought this Abby, don’t tell her I said that of course.

My shepherdess has been having a hard time lately, and so I thought I’d take the reins for a bit and show you around since you haven’t seen the flock in a while.  Come along…

This here is part of the flock.  My shepherdess knows everyone’s names and can call us out in a picture like this, no problem.  But since she’s not here, and since I’m related, I’ll pass the info along.

Down in front, Sophia (my mother, she’s the matriarc of the place and will fight anyone off the grain… except for me).  Then there’s my little sisters to the upper left and right, Cyan & Ruby.  In the middle of them is Bea, to the right is Little Madge and then Ella.  On the left and just above Cyan, is Packard.  Above Packard is his mama Cordelia (the black one) and behind her is Nash.  In the middle of them is Freckles and to the right of Freckles is Lily (she was born on Easter a couple of years ago I hear) and her daughter Constance.  Above and to the left a little is Fanny Mae and Meat Head, to the left of them is Rudy, and to the left of Rudy is Celeste.  Oh, trust me there’s much more than that, I was just getting started but didn’t want to make you dizzy.

My mama Sophia.  I think she’s beautiful and so does my shepherdess.  In fact, my shepherdess was so sad when my mama gave birth to two rams the first year she owned her and wanted a ewe lamb to keep so bad.  Well, the next year I was born with my brother and guess who was all excited.  Yep, my shepherdess, and I got to stay around here.  This year my mama had my two sisters, Ruby & Cyan, and she’s pretty happy about them too but still thinks I’m best.

This is Little Madge with my two little sisters just behind her.  They all get along great, and I’m happy because then they don’t bug me too much.  Little Madge got her name from her great-grandma who was killed last fall by coyotes.  My shepherdess was mortified when Madge got killed, it nearly broke her heart because great-grandma Madge was almost as sweet as me.  And you know what?  She even had a Bostonian accent when she baaaa’ed.  I never knew where Boston is but my shepherdess always got a laugh when great-grandma Madge would baaaa. 

This here is Tiffany, her mama’s name is Stephanie because she’s the whitest ewe in the flock.  My shepherdess had to think of a name for her mama because she was so “blonde” and thought Stephanie was a good fit.  So, to go along with the fancy names, she named her daughter Tiffany.  We all think it fits, and she’s a fun little lamb.  Oh, and yeah, she’s a late bloomer born in June.  Go figure.

This dude is Packard, he’s pretty high in the rankings I hear because of his supposed good looks.  I don’t know, my shepherdess thinks he pretty hot but I’m not too keen on him.  She’s always ooh’ing and ahh’ing about his horns and coloring.  Whatever.

This dude is Nash.  My shepherdess likes him too because he’s a lilac and has nice strong horns.  I think he’s a bit of a baby though, don’t tell, but he still drinks milk!  Ha ha ha!

Anyway it was nice to talk to y’all but I’d better get going.  I think I see some grass that needs to be mowed and some shade that needs to be sat in.  See ya around!

About mudranch

I live in the country, I love to take photos, I'm a shepherdess, I adore my husband and daughter, I walk in the will of Christ.

Posted on July 30, 2008, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 9 Comments.

  1. Very nice pics Joan. I can’t wait to get Packard back to my place next month, he has turned out to be very good looking indeed (just like his sire). He has some girls waiting for him !!! I have already told them to expect the best and now I’m a little concerned that they won’t want anything else after him 🙂 I’ll just have to have a little talk with them.
    Sounds like you are feeling better,

  2. Thanks for the tour Violet! (Love the name, that was my grandma’s name!)

    By the way, what is up with Packard’s horns? Is that normal? Anyway, ya’ll should probably still let him join in your reindeer-oops, I mean, sheep game, regardless! 😉

  3. What fantastic pics!! Violet is beautiful!

    Abby is adorable too!

  4. Rachelle Hobbs

    Violet is such a great tour guide! Thanks for the update, great to see how big everyone is getting. Hope the shepardess is feeling better and better each day! 🙂

  5. Great post!! I enjoyed the tour and I love the pics in B&W!

  6. These are Jacob’s sheep right? They are so gorgeous! Packard’s horns are very impressive. Is he the only one on your ranch that has the double set of horns.
    We have a churro ewe lamb. Churro rams often have those double sets of horns, too. I think they are so awesome!

    Do you process the wool yourself? Do you knit or handspin?

    Thanks for the tour. I hope you post more about your sheep in the future.

  7. Thanks for the tour! Nice looking Jacobs. I too want to know if you spin, knit, weave… In your spare time ;-).

  8. Nice pics! They are such cool lookin’ critters!

  1. Pingback: A Blast from Lambing’s Past « Mud Ranch’s Real Dirt

Leave a Reply

