Went Ridin’

Thank you to everyone who sent comments about the fires.  It is still a huge threat to those historical towns that are in it’s path.  They’ve been closing down the main highway that goes to the big city because they’re making a goal line stance there on the highway and actually back burning the hills.  We went to the Big City yesterday for church and almost didn’t make it home.  We had to rush and once we made it past the stopping point, we were safe but it was closed not too far behind us.  We did see fire up on the hills really close to the highway so the fire was slowly creeping its way toward us.  Thankfully there was no wind yesterday as that really helps the firefighters get a grasp on things and send the fire packing.  I’m not sure how well they did yesterday but know that today the highway is closed again from about 11:00 am to about 9:00 pm. 

Yesterday, however, hubby and I went trail riding with some friends of ours.  We had a great time! 

28+ year old Kahla, (the gray) with her buddy Joe (pinto) hiding in the bushes.

I was going to take my camera around my neck to get some trail shots but after I hoped on Sunnie in their round pen, he did a couple of crow hops and I decided that riding and taking my camera might be a bad idea.  I need to invent a riding helmet for cameras, that’d be a nice accessory. 

Sunnie settled in just fine though and was doing really well in to the ride.  Hubby was riding Cali and she did pretty good too.  She was pretty fresh in the very beginning and wanted to trot so hubby had her ride right up on Sunnie and he did a good job stopping her.  Once we got on the gravel road, they both slowed down and followed behind our friends.

Here Cali is being rude and starting to walk while hubby holds her back.  Fly spray is a must right now.

We went up a pretty steep logging type road at the back of our friends house and wound our way up the side of the mountain.  This part is heavily in to the old burn so there’s lots of brush to plunge through.  Cali and Sunnie both did great, never missed a beat and never spooked.  My eyes started to sting because of all the smoke and it would have been nice to see the view, but hopefully we’ll go back and take pictures to share here.  Needless to say, it was a lot of fun and something I’ve needed to do for a while.  I love my kids, and Sunnie and Cali are gems.

Off to get the baby out of bed…

About mudranch

I live in the country, I love to take photos, I'm a shepherdess, I adore my husband and daughter, I walk in the will of Christ.

Posted on July 14, 2008, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. Sounds like a great day. Wow, you can really see the smoke in the pics! Yikes! HOpe they get that under control soon! Scary!

  2. Rachelle Hobbs

    Glad you got out for some riding! Sorry to hear how crazy the fires have gotten! Sending lots of prayers your way and hoping for the fires to clear in the North State soon! 🙂

  3. At first I thought that was fog in the pictures, then remembered the fires! Wow! I’m glad you got out for a ride. It is relaxing, for the most part, when your horse isn’t being silly like mine can get sometimes! 😉 I think the horses do enjoy getting out of the arena though.

  4. Wow. It really was smokey there. Did the smoke also affect the horses, like it did you? Did they get runny eyes or coughing?

    Sounds like a a nice ride, except for the smoke. My Baby Doll crow hops sometimes in the round pen. I don’t like it at all.
    I’m always expecting a buck to come next.
    Do you discipline him when he does the crowhops?
    I’ve read that making them go in circles and backwards is supposed to help. Got any ideas?

    The horses look beautiful, though. Thanks for sharing the pics from your ride.

  5. Love the photos of your gorgeous horses! So glad you remained safe during those dreadful fires. How well I remember the disaster we had in So.Calif.

    By the way, a camera-riding helmet! How clever. Sure would buy one of those!

Leave a Reply

