Itchy Boy

My poor Sunnie boy has the itchies.  He has been backing up to just about everything in the pasture and when he’s in my yard to graze the clover, the apple trees stand no chance (thus he gets chased a lot).  So I’ve gone out and bought a couple of products that I hope will help him out.  The first one is Shapley’s M-T-G.

I’ve heard a lot of good things about this product and they claim that it will cause three inch mane and tail growth in one month, if used according to their directions of course.  It is kinda stinky, like sulphur or something burning.  I put it on without gloves and it didn’t really bother me too much and actually the residue smell came of after a couple of hand washings.  I’ve heard the horror stories of the stench but it truly wasn’t that bad. 

The other product I’ve had for a little while is this shampoo made by Eqyss.  I like the company’s products as they seem to work fairly well and I like that they aren’t made up of a bunch of chemicals.  I’m more of a natural gal I guess.  This stuff worked wonders on my dog, Oliver’s, hot spot he got about a year ago.  I washed him in this stuff and then used Eqyss’ non-itch spray every day for a week and that thing cleared up wonderfully.

So I washed Sunnie in the Eqyss shampoo and then applied the MTG.  I’ll let you know how it works and if I get some mane and tail growth back from his “thinned” spots… Which reminds me, I’d better get pictures before it really grows out!  Stay tuned…

About mudranch

I live in the country, I love to take photos, I'm a shepherdess, I adore my husband and daughter, I walk in the will of Christ.

Posted on June 28, 2008, in Horses, Kiger Mustangs, Me. Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. Okay Joan–I bought the MTG today. Hope it helps. We’ve been battling itchies for months. The expensive vet shampoo stops the spread, but doesn’t eradicate it. I was using anti-itch shampoo from Kroger, which helped but I’ll need 2,000 tubes of it!

    Would a goat eat the weeds out of my pasture? Just wondering…

  2. You could try grinding flax and adding it to his feed. Keep it in the freezer as it goes rancid quickly once ground. The omega 3’s and flax oil in it are great for coat and act as an anti-inflammatory.

  3. Hope all the anti-itch stuff works. May have to get some MTG stuff as it sure would be nice to grow out my mare’s tail that the goats ate off all winter.

  4. I don’t know about that kind of hair growth but I do use MTG and have for years. I also use the Eqyss shampoo and know that you have to be careful about what you use in conjuction with it. Sometimes the two things will work against each other and cause a bigger problem than you started off with in the first place. I don’t know if there’s a problem between the shampoo and the MTG but thought I’d mention it just in case.

    The smell of the MTG drives me crazy but my smeller is probably overly sensitive. I sure hopes this helps clear up your horse itches.

  5. Does the MTG actually help stimulate growth, or does it stop the itchies so that hair can grow?
    Thanks for sharing the information. It’s always good to get product recommendations from others. I’ve seen the Eqyss on the shelves but have never tried it.

  6. Can’t wait to hear how it works. Poor Sunnie. My Baby Doll gets eaten alive by gnats and she get welts and bumps from them.
    I want to try something more natural to give her some relief, especially to get rid of the swelling and itchiness.

  7. Thanks everybody! I am hoping that it works.

    Thank you for the warning RisingRainbow, about the coinciding stuff. I will watch what I do, to make sure they don’t react.

    Netherfieldmom – a better choice for “weeds” in a pasture would be a primitive type sheep that isn’t finicky. Such as a Jacob. A goat would be more apt to tear down fencing and eat trees and brush where a sheep will eat grasses and weeds more. A goat will also escape out of the pasture and eat all yoru landscaping plants… ahhh… frusterating memories. 😉

  8. Oh and PonyGirl… They actually say it stimulates growth. Not just keeping them from rubbing, though it helps that too.

Leave a Reply

